British Expats

British Expats (https://britishexpats.com/forum/)
-   The Maple Leaf (https://britishexpats.com/forum/maple-leaf-98/)
-   -   Basic standards of grammar... (https://britishexpats.com/forum/maple-leaf-98/basic-standards-grammar-646232/)

G77 Dec 27th 2009 3:41 am

Basic standards of grammar...

I'm not an expert by any means, but is it me or is the standard of grammar (and spelling) getting worse on here?

I know it's irritating to people pointing out errors, but it really winds me up.....

Anyone else agree?

If you're moving to Canada then you should have at least the ability to type a sentence with semi-correct grammar, right?

dollface Dec 27th 2009 3:44 am

Re: Basic standards of grammar...

Originally Posted by G77 (Post 8198688)
I'm not an expert by any means, but is it me or is the standard of grammar (and spelling) getting worse on here?

I know it's irritating to people pointing out errors, but it really winds me up.....

Anyone else agree?

No.:p

G77 Dec 27th 2009 3:45 am

Originally Posted by dollface (Post 8198694)
No.:p

You at least managed a capital N and a full stop after, that's a bonus these days....

G77 Dec 27th 2009 3:46 am

An example - http://britishexpats.com/forum/showp...50&postcount=7

When I read that, I can't help but think Vicky Pollard!

montreal mike Dec 27th 2009 3:51 am

I do note bad grammar and though I am tolerant mostly, what really irritates are those posters who seem to delight in posting their thoughts all in one huge paragraph with sentences loosely strung together and where I am forced to re-read the material over and over again to attempt to make some sense of it.

G77 Dec 27th 2009 3:53 am

Originally Posted by montreal mike (Post 8198705)