Potential move to KL

Old Dec 29th 2012, 7:26 pm
Just Joined

kljpj is an unknown quantity at this point
Post Potential move to KL

Hi peeps,

My first post so, hello all out there! Even though I'm not British I've been living in London for the past 5 years so lets say I'm 1/6 or so . I'll try to be brief and clear on my question(s).

I currently work as a software developer in the visual effects industry in London and recently found that a known US company has a branch in KL. Having been to KL (and some other places in Malaysia) twice (as a tourist only) and having enjoyed it so much I thought I could give it a go and contact them. Cutting it short, after a few calls and emails, there seems to be some interest on their side to hire me. I've recently had a quick chat with one of their recruiters and he asked me if I was aware of the differences between UK/Malaysian salaries (which sounds to me that they're not willing to pay much if this goes forward).
I've been reading your forums for a couple of weeks now but I feel that I need some more info/feedback.

My gross salary in here is around GPB 50K and I manage to save an average of £600 per month. Also £150 of my gross salary goes to a pension scheme and my company puts £150 on top of that (as a benefit). This totals £900 of what I consider "unflexible" money, i.e., I won't accept less than this fixed sum whererever I move to (I'd be "losing" money if I was saving less).
Subtracting my bills (food, rent, transportation, utilies) I'm probably left with around £700 or so. It's hard to specify where I spend this. However, I know I "manage" on average to spend a fairly big part of this (clothes, pub/entertainment, wife, flights) - it's that kind of money that goes out of one's account and "you can't explain" how