Reload this Page >

The high cost of apartments in Penang

The high cost of apartments in Penang

Old Jan 29th 2012, 7:12 am
Just Joined

nnejy is an unknown quantity at this point
Default The high cost of apartments in Penang

Hi everyone,
My husband and I are planning to retire to Malaysia under the MM2H scheme. We were hoping for it to be in about 18 months time, but looking at the prices of apartments in Penang, that is, good quality ones that are modern and well-designed, I can see we are way off beam and won't be able to afford it. Hence, now looking further afield.

Being a real newbie, I realise most of you have some really, really good advice to offer and I was wondering if you might share some of this with me?

Here are the issues I am a bit worried about:

Fees likely to be added on the top of the purchase price. Also, do we have to pay an agents fee as well or is this paid by the seller of the property, or is it paid by both?

What's it like living in a high rise in Malaysia? Is the build quality good? Can you hear neighbours upstairs? A daft question I know but I am suffering this in the UK at the moment

I have tried to find some real estate agents on the web via home guru but no-one is ever coming back to me. Correction - one agent did and then told me the price had been put up by RM35,000

What is the possibility to negotiate on the price of an apartment? I see thousands and thousands of them empty but not sure if its possible to haggle. If so, what would be the best way to do this based on your experiences?

We are planning to spend about 5 weeks over next Christmas looking for suitable apartments if we can't find anything via the web. Do you think this is a good strategy? I keep being told that property prices are going up in Malaysia but I'm not so sure. My experiences so far (brick walls) tell me we should wait and get out there and do the legwork ourselves. What do you think?