British Expats

British Expats (https://britishexpats.com/forum/)
-   Malaysia (https://britishexpats.com/forum/malaysia-148/)
-   -   Coming to KL (https://britishexpats.com/forum/malaysia-148/coming-kl-739202/)

sivorb Nov 17th 2011 11:40 am

Coming to KL

Hi everyone,

my wife has accepted a job in KL and the 3 of us (my son will be 4 in Dec) are hoping to move to KL in January. I may have to come back to the UK for a couple of months to finish work and tidy up whatever is outstanding. We're looking at renting a condo around Bangsar (any recommendations gratefully accepted).
I hope to get a job, I'm currently an IT Trainer primarily working with most versions of Microsoft Office.

We enjoy watching rugby, ( I'm too old to play now), but even here in the UK that's mostly on TV. I also play the bagpipes (a decent competition standard at one time) so was wondering if there would be a market for 'hire a piper'. I also used to broadcast on Hospital radio and would love to try to get involved in radio again.

Any help on condos in Bangsar, estate agents, shipping personal belongings is welcomed.
We are really looking forward to getting out there.

ajw Nov 17th 2011 12:05 pm

Re: Coming to KL

Lots of great condo options in Bangsar. It really comes down to your budget. Have a look at iproperty.com.my for rentals.

Presumably your wife will hold the working visa and you and your son will have dependent visas. Keep in mind you cannot work on a dependents visa, you would need to get your own work permit and in order for this to happen a local company has to offer you a job here. It can be done but its not as straightforward as just walking into a job.

KL is a fantastic place to live, good luck with the move!

dreadsoc Nov 17th 2011 2:30 pm

Hi Sivorb

I was just having a look through this forum when I noticed your post as a new member and wanted to say Welcome to BE - you have certainly come to the right place for information.