Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Far East and Asia > Malaysia
Reload this Page >

Amdram / drama / acting / theatre ?

Amdram / drama / acting / theatre ?

Old Mar 3rd 2012, 8:44 am
Forum Regular

LivKL is a name known to allLivKL is a name known to allLivKL is a name known to allLivKL is a name known to allLivKL is a name known to allLivKL is a name known to allLivKL is a name known to allLivKL is a name known to allLivKL is a name known to allLivKL is a name known to allLivKL is a name known to all
Default Amdram / drama / acting / theatre ?

Hi again BE

Anyone know of any drama/acting-type clubs that exist in KL, and/or any well-regarded theatres (commercial or funded by a Govt arts council or similar)? I used to work in the theatre "industry" back in London and would be interested to know what acting-related activity exists in KL, either for getting involved with amateur dramatics or "proper" theatres where we might go to see professionally-produced plays?

Old Mar 4th 2012, 3:40 am
ajw

Location: Melbourne - London - Bangkok - Melbourne - Kuala Lumpur - Melbourne
ajw has a reputation beyond reputeajw has a reputation beyond reputeajw has a reputation beyond reputeajw has a reputation beyond reputeajw has a reputation beyond reputeajw has a reputation beyond reputeajw has a reputation beyond reputeajw has a reputation beyond reputeajw has a reputation beyond reputeajw has a reputation beyond reputeajw has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Amdram / drama / acting / theatre ?

Hi LivKL, the only one I know of is PJ Live Arts. Sure there must be some more around but I have heard that Malaysians are not a theatre going public, certainly not on the scale you'd see in Western countries. I was listening to an interview on local radio the other day with a performer who said it was incredibly hard to get Govt arts funding in Malaysia and there was a lot of reliance on private sector/corporate funding. Good luck on your hunt.