Go Back  British Expats > General > The Locker Room
Reload this Page >

Running help

Running help

Old Jan 13th 2011, 4:34 pm
BE Enthusiast

Reading fan is a name known to allReading fan is a name known to allReading fan is a name known to allReading fan is a name known to allReading fan is a name known to allReading fan is a name known to allReading fan is a name known to allReading fan is a name known to allReading fan is a name known to allReading fan is a name known to allReading fan is a name known to all
Default Running help

I was hoping for a bit of advise of ways to improve my running - if anyone can.

I have been running for about 18 months now 3 times a week (1 x 5km, 1 x 10- 20km and 1 x 5 km ). I completed my first half marathon last March and I am due to run one again this March and also the London Marathon on the 17th April (the date is seared in my brain !! ). Some days it is pure torture and others just a little bit ! We are currently following a training programme and are increasing our long run by a mile a week. I also try to do 1 fartlek session a week.

My only concern is that I don't feel I have improved in the entire 18 mths which is slightly depressing. I can run 5km but then will have to stop for a couple of minutes and then continue for another few kms - is this normal ? It just never seems any easier from week to the next.

I am female, 40 next week, 5 ft 5 and weigh about 60kgs - thats another thing I thought I might have lost a bit of weight but it has just stayed the same .

Thanks for any pointers.
Old Jan 13th 2011, 7:34 pm
BE Forum Addict