Go Back  British Expats > General > The Lab
Reload this Page >

PC Issue

PC Issue

Reply

Old Feb 28th 2018, 7:00 pm
  #1  
Lost in BE Cyberspace
Thread Starter
 
Joined: Jan 2006
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 15,884
Jsmth321 has a reputation beyond reputeJsmth321 has a reputation beyond reputeJsmth321 has a reputation beyond reputeJsmth321 has a reputation beyond reputeJsmth321 has a reputation beyond reputeJsmth321 has a reputation beyond reputeJsmth321 has a reputation beyond reputeJsmth321 has a reputation beyond reputeJsmth321 has a reputation beyond reputeJsmth321 has a reputation beyond reputeJsmth321 has a reputation beyond repute
Default PC Issue

I have a dell all in one desk top, windows 10.

Las night it froze and I could not get it to respond to anything, after about an hour of it being frozen, I unplugged it and went to bed.

Today when I turn it on it sits on the Dell start up screen, where the Dell logo appears and sits there for 20 of so mins, then the screen goes blank, the PC is on and you can tell the screen alive of sorts, but nothing happens beyond that point, just stays as a black screen with the PC running.

Any idea what the issue could be? Any ideas on how to possibly fix it?

Tech support is no longer available as I only paid for 2 years and I have had it a bit longer then 2 years.
Jsmth321 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 28th 2018, 7:02 pm
  #2  
Fair and balanced
 
kimilseung's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2006
Location: WA
Posts: 12,550
kimilseung has a reputation beyond reputekimilseung has a reputation beyond reputekimilseung has a reputation beyond reputekimilseung has a reputation beyond reputekimilseung has a reputation beyond reputekimilseung has a reputation beyond reputekimilseung has a reputation beyond reputekimilseung has a reputation beyond reputekimilseung has a reputation beyond reputekimilseung has a reputation beyond reputekimilseung has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: PC Issue

Do you have another monitor or TV to test it with?
kimilseung is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 28th 2018, 7:37 pm
  #3  
You aint seen me, right?
 
SpoogleDrummer's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2005
Location: US of A, TN
Posts: 2,032
SpoogleDrummer has a reputation beyond reputeSpoogleDrummer has a reputation beyond reputeSpoogleDrummer has a reputation beyond reputeSpoogleDrummer has a reputation beyond reputeSpoogleDrummer has a reputation beyond reputeSpoogleDrummer has a reputation beyond reputeSpoogleDrummer has a reputation beyond reputeSpoogleDrummer has a reputation beyond reputeSpoogleDrummer has a reputation beyond reputeSpoogleDrummer has a reputation beyond reputeSpoogleDrummer has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: PC Issue

You could try using Dell Diagnostics.
SpoogleDrummer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 1st 2018, 4:29 am
  #4  
Lost in BE Cyberspace
Thread Starter
 
Joined: Jan 2006
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 15,884
Jsmth321 has a reputation beyond reputeJsmth321 has a reputation beyond reputeJsmth321 has a reputation beyond reputeJsmth321 has a reputation beyond reputeJsmth321 has a reputation beyond reputeJsmth321 has a reputation beyond reputeJsmth321 has a reputation beyond reputeJsmth321 has a reputation beyond reputeJsmth321 has a reputation beyond reputeJsmth321 has a reputation beyond reputeJsmth321 has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: PC Issue

I did that and says nothing is found.

I am thinking it might be a screen issue but I have no way to test that at the moment so not sure.


Originally Posted by SpoogleDrummer View Post
You could try using Dell Diagnostics.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rMBIyeelQA0
Jsmth321 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 1st 2018, 2:18 pm
  #5  
BE Enthusiast
 
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 381
wtkp0u is a glorious beacon of lightwtkp0u is a glorious beacon of lightwtkp0u is a glorious beacon of lightwtkp0u is a glorious beacon of lightwtkp0u is a glorious beacon of lightwtkp0u is a glorious beacon of lightwtkp0u is a glorious beacon of lightwtkp0u is a glorious beacon of lightwtkp0u is a glorious beacon of lightwtkp0u is a glorious beacon of lightwtkp0u is a glorious beacon of light
Default Re: PC Issue

Can you get into the BIOS to set DVD or USB as the first boot device (if it isn't already)? If so, try booting from a live Ubuntu DVD, that will tell you if the hardware is OK
https://tutorials.ubuntu.com/tutoria...-you-install#0
wtkp0u is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 1st 2018, 10:25 pm
  #6  
BE Enthusiast
 
calman014's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2014
Posts: 596
calman014 has a reputation beyond reputecalman014 has a reputation beyond reputecalman014 has a reputation beyond reputecalman014 has a reputation beyond reputecalman014 has a reputation beyond reputecalman014 has a reputation beyond reputecalman014 has a reputation beyond reputecalman014 has a reputation beyond reputecalman014 has a reputation beyond reputecalman014 has a reputation beyond reputecalman014 has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: PC Issue

Follow the standard recovery procedure.
calman014 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 7th 2018, 6:05 am
  #7  
Lost in BE Cyberspace
Thread Starter
 
Joined: Jan 2006
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 15,884
Jsmth321 has a reputation beyond reputeJsmth321 has a reputation beyond reputeJsmth321 has a reputation beyond reputeJsmth321 has a reputation beyond reputeJsmth321 has a reputation beyond reputeJsmth321 has a reputation beyond reputeJsmth321 has a reputation beyond reputeJsmth321 has a reputation beyond reputeJsmth321 has a reputation beyond reputeJsmth321 has a reputation beyond reputeJsmth321 has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: PC Issue

From what I can tell online its likely a hardware issue and so probably not much I can do at this point with my limited technical skills.
Jsmth321 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 7th 2018, 10:34 pm
  #8  
BE Enthusiast
 
calman014's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2014
Posts: 596
calman014 has a reputation beyond reputecalman014 has a reputation beyond reputecalman014 has a reputation beyond reputecalman014 has a reputation beyond reputecalman014 has a reputation beyond reputecalman014 has a reputation beyond reputecalman014 has a reputation beyond reputecalman014 has a reputation beyond reputecalman014 has a reputation beyond reputecalman014 has a reputation beyond reputecalman014 has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: PC Issue

Most laptops have special keys for switching between built in and external monitors.
This could also be the case with your PC, or if it has an HDMI out port, you could try that.
Try hooking up an external monitor/TV and see if you get any kind of display output.
calman014 is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement