Go Back  British Expats > General > The Lab
Reload this Page >

Backing up

Backing up

Reply

Old Dec 3rd 2017, 7:42 pm
  #1  
Truth is the safest lie.
Thread Starter
 
Charismatic's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2008
Location: @ the beach.
Posts: 6,344
Charismatic has a reputation beyond reputeCharismatic has a reputation beyond reputeCharismatic has a reputation beyond reputeCharismatic has a reputation beyond reputeCharismatic has a reputation beyond reputeCharismatic has a reputation beyond reputeCharismatic has a reputation beyond reputeCharismatic has a reputation beyond reputeCharismatic has a reputation beyond reputeCharismatic has a reputation beyond reputeCharismatic has a reputation beyond repute
Smile Backing up

Hello everybody,

I'm looking for a way to create an image of my SSD drive and save it to a USB drive every night automatically. Is there a bit of software I can use to do this? Did some googling but nothing apparent was available.

I don't want to lose my archive of filthy smu...I mean "research material for my next book" if the ol' SSD lets out the blue smoke.

Thanks for your help in advance.
Charismatic is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 3rd 2017, 10:32 pm
  #2  
BE Enthusiast
 
calman014's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2014
Posts: 596
calman014 has a reputation beyond reputecalman014 has a reputation beyond reputecalman014 has a reputation beyond reputecalman014 has a reputation beyond reputecalman014 has a reputation beyond reputecalman014 has a reputation beyond reputecalman014 has a reputation beyond reputecalman014 has a reputation beyond reputecalman014 has a reputation beyond reputecalman014 has a reputation beyond reputecalman014 has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Backing up

What are you using? Windows 10?
calman014 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 3rd 2017, 11:30 pm
  #3  
Truth is the safest lie.
Thread Starter
 
Charismatic's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2008
Location: @ the beach.
Posts: 6,344
Charismatic has a reputation beyond reputeCharismatic has a reputation beyond reputeCharismatic has a reputation beyond reputeCharismatic has a reputation beyond reputeCharismatic has a reputation beyond reputeCharismatic has a reputation beyond reputeCharismatic has a reputation beyond reputeCharismatic has a reputation beyond reputeCharismatic has a reputation beyond reputeCharismatic has a reputation beyond reputeCharismatic has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Backing up

Originally Posted by calman014 View Post
What are you using? Windows 10?
Yes.
Charismatic is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 4th 2017, 5:03 am
  #4  
Hostage Negotiator
 
InVinoVeritas's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2013
Posts: 5,156
InVinoVeritas has a reputation beyond reputeInVinoVeritas has a reputation beyond reputeInVinoVeritas has a reputation beyond reputeInVinoVeritas has a reputation beyond reputeInVinoVeritas has a reputation beyond reputeInVinoVeritas has a reputation beyond reputeInVinoVeritas has a reputation beyond reputeInVinoVeritas has a reputation beyond reputeInVinoVeritas has a reputation beyond reputeInVinoVeritas has a reputation beyond reputeInVinoVeritas has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Backing up

I have been using FreeFileSync for a few years now. It has the advantage that it creates a proper directory structure so that the USB drive can be used on another computer (handy when travelling).

I use Windows task scheduler to automate when it runs. Hope this helps.
InVinoVeritas is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 4th 2017, 9:39 am
  #5  
BE Enthusiast
 
calman014's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2014
Posts: 596
calman014 has a reputation beyond reputecalman014 has a reputation beyond reputecalman014 has a reputation beyond reputecalman014 has a reputation beyond reputecalman014 has a reputation beyond reputecalman014 has a reputation beyond reputecalman014 has a reputation beyond reputecalman014 has a reputation beyond reputecalman014 has a reputation beyond reputecalman014 has a reputation beyond reputecalman014 has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Backing up

Just use the standard backup programme in Windows 10.
calman014 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 4th 2017, 6:25 pm
  #6  
Ooh wakka doo wakka day
 
BristolUK's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2008
Location: Moncton, NB, CANADA
Posts: 22,578
BristolUK has a reputation beyond reputeBristolUK has a reputation beyond reputeBristolUK has a reputation beyond reputeBristolUK has a reputation beyond reputeBristolUK has a reputation beyond reputeBristolUK has a reputation beyond reputeBristolUK has a reputation beyond reputeBristolUK has a reputation beyond reputeBristolUK has a reputation beyond reputeBristolUK has a reputation beyond reputeBristolUK has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Backing up

Originally Posted by Charismatic View Post
...I'm looking for a way to create an image of my SSD drive and save it to a USB drive every night automatically.
Sounds like something we used to do at work in the days of barcodes on the back of thousands of files to identify a file location.

I don't want to lose my archive of filthy smu...I mean "research material for my next book"...

A few years ago I bought an external HD to store downloaded movies on but my late wife noted it would do a daily backup and set it up.

It wasn't terribly convenient moving the laptop place to place with it dangling and it fell out once. I guess that's when it stopped backing up. This was in the days when I left everything to her and I didn't know about the "remove safely" feature.

Originally Posted by InVinoVeritas View Post
I have been using FreeFileSync...
I use Windows task scheduler to automate when it runs. Hope this helps.
Originally Posted by calman014 View Post
Just use the standard backup programme in Windows 10.
I'm curious. Just looked at the task scheduler...what in there would would indicate a daily backup?
BristolUK is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 12th 2018, 4:06 pm
  #7  
Just Joined
 
Joined: Aug 2017
Posts: 6
yn423 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: Backing up

You can schedule backups using task scheduler. You'd just need to create a trigger like "at startup" which means a backup would begin when you first start your computer. You can also schedule a task on a specific schedule which would allow you to perform daily backups.
yn423 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 13th 2018, 1:07 pm
  #8  
Ooh wakka doo wakka day
 
BristolUK's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2008
Location: Moncton, NB, CANADA
Posts: 22,578
BristolUK has a reputation beyond reputeBristolUK has a reputation beyond reputeBristolUK has a reputation beyond reputeBristolUK has a reputation beyond reputeBristolUK has a reputation beyond reputeBristolUK has a reputation beyond reputeBristolUK has a reputation beyond reputeBristolUK has a reputation beyond reputeBristolUK has a reputation beyond reputeBristolUK has a reputation beyond reputeBristolUK has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Backing up

Originally Posted by BristolUK View Post
I'm curious. Just looked at the task scheduler...what in there would would indicate a daily backup?
Originally Posted by yn423 View Post
You can schedule backups using task scheduler. You'd just need to create a trigger like "at startup" which means a backup would begin when you first start your computer. You can also schedule a task on a specific schedule which would allow you to perform daily backups.
I'm still seeing nothing that indicates where "back up" would be.

I would have expected a list of common tasks. I can see where one might set the schedule for the task but not what the task would be.

What does one do, type in Back up and keep clicking next? Because that doesn't seem to do anything.
BristolUK is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 13th 2018, 4:43 pm
  #9  
Lost in BE Cyberspace
 
mrken30's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2008
Location: Portlandia Metro
Posts: 6,874
mrken30 has a reputation beyond reputemrken30 has a reputation beyond reputemrken30 has a reputation beyond reputemrken30 has a reputation beyond reputemrken30 has a reputation beyond reputemrken30 has a reputation beyond reputemrken30 has a reputation beyond reputemrken30 has a reputation beyond reputemrken30 has a reputation beyond reputemrken30 has a reputation beyond reputemrken30 has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Backing up

If you have a netgear router , you can plug the USB into the router and use the Netgear backup software. Other router vendors may also have backup software.
mrken30 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 13th 2018, 6:00 pm
  #10  
BE Forum Addict
 
Joined: Aug 2013
Location: Athens GA
Posts: 1,480
MidAtlantic has a reputation beyond reputeMidAtlantic has a reputation beyond reputeMidAtlantic has a reputation beyond reputeMidAtlantic has a reputation beyond reputeMidAtlantic has a reputation beyond reputeMidAtlantic has a reputation beyond reputeMidAtlantic has a reputation beyond reputeMidAtlantic has a reputation beyond reputeMidAtlantic has a reputation beyond reputeMidAtlantic has a reputation beyond reputeMidAtlantic has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Backing up

Originally Posted by BristolUK View Post
I'm still seeing nothing that indicates where "back up" would be.

I would have expected a list of common tasks. I can see where one might set the schedule for the task but not what the task would be.

What does one do, type in Back up and keep clicking next? Because that doesn't seem to do anything.
This takes you through it:

https://www.windowscentral.com/how-b...-automatically
MidAtlantic is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 13th 2018, 6:04 pm
  #11  
Ooh wakka doo wakka day
 
BristolUK's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2008
Location: Moncton, NB, CANADA
Posts: 22,578
BristolUK has a reputation beyond reputeBristolUK has a reputation beyond reputeBristolUK has a reputation beyond reputeBristolUK has a reputation beyond reputeBristolUK has a reputation beyond reputeBristolUK has a reputation beyond reputeBristolUK has a reputation beyond reputeBristolUK has a reputation beyond reputeBristolUK has a reputation beyond reputeBristolUK has a reputation beyond reputeBristolUK has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Backing up

Originally Posted by MidAtlantic View Post
This takes you through it:dowscentral.com/how-backup-windows-10-automatically[/url]
Excellent, that looks like something I can follow. Thanks.
BristolUK is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 14th 2018, 10:37 am
  #12  
CHextricating...
 
BuckinghamshireBoy's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2016
Location: Thônex, Switzerland
Posts: 779
BuckinghamshireBoy has a reputation beyond reputeBuckinghamshireBoy has a reputation beyond reputeBuckinghamshireBoy has a reputation beyond reputeBuckinghamshireBoy has a reputation beyond reputeBuckinghamshireBoy has a reputation beyond reputeBuckinghamshireBoy has a reputation beyond reputeBuckinghamshireBoy has a reputation beyond reputeBuckinghamshireBoy has a reputation beyond reputeBuckinghamshireBoy has a reputation beyond reputeBuckinghamshireBoy has a reputation beyond reputeBuckinghamshireBoy has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Backing up

Originally Posted by MidAtlantic View Post
Originally Posted by BristolUK View Post
Excellent, that looks like something I can follow. Thanks.
MidAtlantic thank you for that step by step, very clear.
BuckinghamshireBoy is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement