Go Back  British Expats > General > The Lab
Reload this Page > Anyone use Plex?

Anyone use Plex?

Reply

Old Dec 7th 2017, 1:00 pm
  #1  
Ex Royal Corps of Signals
Thread Starter
 
Jamackabi's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2017
Location: Wheeling, West Virginia
Posts: 77
Jamackabi has a reputation beyond reputeJamackabi has a reputation beyond reputeJamackabi has a reputation beyond reputeJamackabi has a reputation beyond reputeJamackabi has a reputation beyond reputeJamackabi has a reputation beyond reputeJamackabi has a reputation beyond reputeJamackabi has a reputation beyond reputeJamackabi has a reputation beyond reputeJamackabi has a reputation beyond reputeJamackabi has a reputation beyond repute
Default Anyone use Plex?

As per the title, does anyone use Plex? I have a Laptop which I no longer use which is just about powerful enough to handle running Plex Media Server on it, with 1000 or so movies loaded on to an external HDD.

My problem is, I'm currently UK based, as is my Plex Server (Laptop). Whenever I visit my in-laws in the US, I struggle to stream anything over Plex, everything seems to buffer pretty horrendously. Within the UK, I can be anywhere and stream movies fine.

Do I need to mess with the server upload speeds / settings within Plex? Any advice would be great.

Just a final note, I don't think Broadband speeds are the problem. My own Broadband is 100MB Download / 100MB Upload. My in-laws have 80MB Download / 20MB Upload.

I'm staying with the in-laws over Christmas so I'd like to be able to finally get this set up when I visit! Thanks for any help/advice you can give.
Jamackabi is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 11th 2017, 4:27 am
  #2  
BE Forum Addict
 
BenK91's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2015
Location: Denver, Colorado.
Posts: 1,107
BenK91 has a reputation beyond reputeBenK91 has a reputation beyond reputeBenK91 has a reputation beyond reputeBenK91 has a reputation beyond reputeBenK91 has a reputation beyond reputeBenK91 has a reputation beyond reputeBenK91 has a reputation beyond reputeBenK91 has a reputation beyond reputeBenK91 has a reputation beyond reputeBenK91 has a reputation beyond reputeBenK91 has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Anyone use Plex?

Can't vouch for Plex but I've used Emby in the past which seems to be pretty reliable.

I believe it should do what you're asking
BenK91 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 11th 2017, 1:15 pm
  #3  
 
Nutek's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2012
Location: CT
Posts: 29,099
Nutek has a reputation beyond reputeNutek has a reputation beyond reputeNutek has a reputation beyond reputeNutek has a reputation beyond reputeNutek has a reputation beyond reputeNutek has a reputation beyond reputeNutek has a reputation beyond reputeNutek has a reputation beyond reputeNutek has a reputation beyond reputeNutek has a reputation beyond reputeNutek has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Anyone use Plex?

Plex for local streaming, yes.

But with what you are doing you have a whole internet between your server and client. Slowdown could be pretty much anywhere between the two.

You can possibly hunt down the culprit... Run some traces, but then what?
Nutek is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 12th 2017, 8:33 am
  #4  
Hostage Negotiator
 
InVinoVeritas's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2013
Posts: 5,152
InVinoVeritas has a reputation beyond reputeInVinoVeritas has a reputation beyond reputeInVinoVeritas has a reputation beyond reputeInVinoVeritas has a reputation beyond reputeInVinoVeritas has a reputation beyond reputeInVinoVeritas has a reputation beyond reputeInVinoVeritas has a reputation beyond reputeInVinoVeritas has a reputation beyond reputeInVinoVeritas has a reputation beyond reputeInVinoVeritas has a reputation beyond reputeInVinoVeritas has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Anyone use Plex?

Originally Posted by Jamackabi View Post
As per the title, does anyone use Plex? I have a Laptop which I no longer use which is just about powerful enough to handle running Plex Media Server on it, with 1000 or so movies loaded on to an external HDD.

My problem is, I'm currently UK based, as is my Plex Server (Laptop). Whenever I visit my in-laws in the US, I struggle to stream anything over Plex, everything seems to buffer pretty horrendously. Within the UK, I can be anywhere and stream movies fine.

Do I need to mess with the server upload speeds / settings within Plex? Any advice would be great.

Just a final note, I don't think Broadband speeds are the problem. My own Broadband is 100MB Download / 100MB Upload. My in-laws have 80MB Download / 20MB Upload.

I'm staying with the in-laws over Christmas so I'd like to be able to finally get this set up when I visit! Thanks for any help/advice you can give.
I assume you know that you can adjust the streaming quality in Plex? Not a great solution I know.
InVinoVeritas is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 12th 2017, 8:38 am
  #5  
Ex Royal Corps of Signals
Thread Starter
 
Jamackabi's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2017
Location: Wheeling, West Virginia
Posts: 77
Jamackabi has a reputation beyond reputeJamackabi has a reputation beyond reputeJamackabi has a reputation beyond reputeJamackabi has a reputation beyond reputeJamackabi has a reputation beyond reputeJamackabi has a reputation beyond reputeJamackabi has a reputation beyond reputeJamackabi has a reputation beyond reputeJamackabi has a reputation beyond reputeJamackabi has a reputation beyond reputeJamackabi has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Anyone use Plex?

Yeah I've tried adjusting the streaming quality, which works to some extent. It's still a little flaky though. I agree with Nutek though, there's too many areas where slowdown could exist. It was a nice thought, but it looks like it might not be possible to stream 1080p movies in the US as I do within the UK from my Plex Server. Thanks for your input.
Jamackabi is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 12th 2017, 9:43 am
  #6  
BE Enthusiast
 
calman014's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2014
Posts: 590
calman014 has a reputation beyond reputecalman014 has a reputation beyond reputecalman014 has a reputation beyond reputecalman014 has a reputation beyond reputecalman014 has a reputation beyond reputecalman014 has a reputation beyond reputecalman014 has a reputation beyond reputecalman014 has a reputation beyond reputecalman014 has a reputation beyond reputecalman014 has a reputation beyond reputecalman014 has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Anyone use Plex?

You are wasting your time. If you are streaming from a domestic connection in UK there are just too many 'links in the chain' between your machine and the US.

If you are handy with windows you can go to the search box and use the CMD command, which should open a small (DOS) window.

In this window you type : tracert www.bbc.co.uk

This will (under normal circumstances) show you all the links between your location in the USA and the closest bbc servers.

If you want to try and reach your laptop, you will need the local IP (Domestic Internet connection, NOT the IP of the laptop) number.

Try the command tracert first.
It will show you all the links in the chain and the speeds.

Next try the command ping (followed by the domestic IP number in UK)

See what the speed is but also how stable (or unstable).
calman014 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 12th 2017, 10:41 am
  #7  
 
Nutek's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2012
Location: CT
Posts: 29,099
Nutek has a reputation beyond reputeNutek has a reputation beyond reputeNutek has a reputation beyond reputeNutek has a reputation beyond reputeNutek has a reputation beyond reputeNutek has a reputation beyond reputeNutek has a reputation beyond reputeNutek has a reputation beyond reputeNutek has a reputation beyond reputeNutek has a reputation beyond reputeNutek has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Anyone use Plex?

Originally Posted by calman014 View Post
You are wasting your time. If you are streaming from a domestic connection in UK there are just too many 'links in the chain' between your machine and the US.

If you are handy with windows you can go to the search box and use the CMD command, which should open a small (DOS) window.

In this window you type : tracert www.bbc.co.uk

This will (under normal circumstances) show you all the links between your location in the USA and the closest bbc servers.

If you want to try and reach your laptop, you will need the local IP (Domestic Internet connection, NOT the IP of the laptop) number.

Try the command tracert first.
It will show you all the links in the chain and the speeds.

Next try the command ping (followed by the domestic IP number in UK)

See what the speed is but also how stable (or unstable).


Nutek is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 12th 2017, 12:06 pm
  #8  
BE Enthusiast
 
calman014's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2014
Posts: 590
calman014 has a reputation beyond reputecalman014 has a reputation beyond reputecalman014 has a reputation beyond reputecalman014 has a reputation beyond reputecalman014 has a reputation beyond reputecalman014 has a reputation beyond reputecalman014 has a reputation beyond reputecalman014 has a reputation beyond reputecalman014 has a reputation beyond reputecalman014 has a reputation beyond reputecalman014 has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Anyone use Plex?

HaHaHA..! Biggest laugh of the day..!
totally wrong!!
That's not the number of users looking, but the number of "HOPS" or "NODES" between you and the target IP number or site....plus the speed between them.. the rest of the procedure is OK.
calman014 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 12th 2017, 12:13 pm
  #9  
 
Nutek's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2012
Location: CT
Posts: 29,099
Nutek has a reputation beyond reputeNutek has a reputation beyond reputeNutek has a reputation beyond reputeNutek has a reputation beyond reputeNutek has a reputation beyond reputeNutek has a reputation beyond reputeNutek has a reputation beyond reputeNutek has a reputation beyond reputeNutek has a reputation beyond reputeNutek has a reputation beyond reputeNutek has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Anyone use Plex?

Originally Posted by calman014 View Post
HaHaHA..! Biggest laugh of the day..!
totally wrong!!
That's not the number of users looking, but the number of "HOPS" or "NODES" between you and the target IP number or site....plus the speed between them.. the rest of the procedure is OK.
Hey! That's Nextgenhacker101 you are talking about!

Nutek is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 12th 2017, 12:39 pm
  #10  
Hostage Negotiator
 
InVinoVeritas's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2013
Posts: 5,152
InVinoVeritas has a reputation beyond reputeInVinoVeritas has a reputation beyond reputeInVinoVeritas has a reputation beyond reputeInVinoVeritas has a reputation beyond reputeInVinoVeritas has a reputation beyond reputeInVinoVeritas has a reputation beyond reputeInVinoVeritas has a reputation beyond reputeInVinoVeritas has a reputation beyond reputeInVinoVeritas has a reputation beyond reputeInVinoVeritas has a reputation beyond reputeInVinoVeritas has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Anyone use Plex?

Originally Posted by calman014 View Post
HaHaHA..! Biggest laugh of the day..!
totally wrong!!
That's not the number of users looking, but the number of "HOPS" or "NODES" between you and the target IP number or site....plus the speed between them.. the rest of the procedure is OK.
I guess the giveaway was just 10 people connected to google.com
InVinoVeritas is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 12th 2017, 3:04 pm
  #11  
 
Nutek's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2012
Location: CT
Posts: 29,099
Nutek has a reputation beyond reputeNutek has a reputation beyond reputeNutek has a reputation beyond reputeNutek has a reputation beyond reputeNutek has a reputation beyond reputeNutek has a reputation beyond reputeNutek has a reputation beyond reputeNutek has a reputation beyond reputeNutek has a reputation beyond reputeNutek has a reputation beyond reputeNutek has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Anyone use Plex?

Originally Posted by InVinoVeritas View Post
I guess the giveaway was just 10 people connected to google.com
You can't see all of them 'cos their connection is better than yours.
Nutek is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 12th 2017, 3:50 pm
  #12  
You aint seen me, right?
 
SpoogleDrummer's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2005
Location: US of A, TN
Posts: 2,010
SpoogleDrummer has a reputation beyond reputeSpoogleDrummer has a reputation beyond reputeSpoogleDrummer has a reputation beyond reputeSpoogleDrummer has a reputation beyond reputeSpoogleDrummer has a reputation beyond reputeSpoogleDrummer has a reputation beyond reputeSpoogleDrummer has a reputation beyond reputeSpoogleDrummer has a reputation beyond reputeSpoogleDrummer has a reputation beyond reputeSpoogleDrummer has a reputation beyond reputeSpoogleDrummer has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Anyone use Plex?

Is there any reason why you don't just take a copy of the external drive with you? Or is your aim for the in-laws to have access whilst you're in the UK?
SpoogleDrummer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 10th 2018, 12:57 pm
  #13  
Ex Royal Corps of Signals
Thread Starter
 
Jamackabi's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2017
Location: Wheeling, West Virginia
Posts: 77
Jamackabi has a reputation beyond reputeJamackabi has a reputation beyond reputeJamackabi has a reputation beyond reputeJamackabi has a reputation beyond reputeJamackabi has a reputation beyond reputeJamackabi has a reputation beyond reputeJamackabi has a reputation beyond reputeJamackabi has a reputation beyond reputeJamackabi has a reputation beyond reputeJamackabi has a reputation beyond reputeJamackabi has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Anyone use Plex?

Just thought I'd update on this. I managed to stream all content whilst staying at the in-laws over Christmas. However, I had to sacrifice 1080p for 720p instead. Not great, but a workaround.

For anyone interested, I changed the settings within the Plex app on my in-laws smart TV to stream content at 4 Mbps 720p. All content streams almost instantly, without any lag or buffering, albeit at a reduced quality.
Jamackabi is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 10th 2018, 5:19 pm
  #14  
Lost in BE Cyberspace
 
Gozit's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2013
Location: SW Ontario, Canada
Posts: 6,255
Gozit has a reputation beyond reputeGozit has a reputation beyond reputeGozit has a reputation beyond reputeGozit has a reputation beyond reputeGozit has a reputation beyond reputeGozit has a reputation beyond reputeGozit has a reputation beyond reputeGozit has a reputation beyond reputeGozit has a reputation beyond reputeGozit has a reputation beyond reputeGozit has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Anyone use Plex?

Originally Posted by Jamackabi View Post
Just thought I'd update on this. I managed to stream all content whilst staying at the in-laws over Christmas. However, I had to sacrifice 1080p for 720p instead. Not great, but a workaround.

For anyone interested, I changed the settings within the Plex app on my in-laws smart TV to stream content at 4 Mbps 720p. All content streams almost instantly, without any lag or buffering, albeit at a reduced quality.
This is good to know. I've been wanting to set up Plex for my grandmother on her iPad but don't want to go through the hassle of having the server run on her laptop. If I can get her to stream at 720p from my server here in Canada that might be a decent workaround.
Gozit is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement