Reload this Page >

Statutary Off Road Notice - SORN

Statutary Off Road Notice - SORN

Old Mar 6th 2019, 11:20 am
Just Joined

Boatfreak is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Statutary Off Road Notice - SORN

Hi
I'm a Newbie and not stictly an Expat, but I have an Expat problem. We have a boat which we live on for 7 or 8 months in the summer returning to the UK in the winter. At the moment the boat is in Southern Sicily till May, then we have to leave or pay big bucks.We have a lot of gear to get to the boat and had planned to drive the car the 1750 miles to Sicily use it for a month to do jobs and sightsee then park it up in the marina, go sailing and return in October when we do more jobs and sightseeing and drive home in November. This falls foul of the 6 months in Italy before you have to register the vehicle as an Italian vehicle. We don't want to register the car as Italian and probably couldn't anyway as we won't have residency. We can take the car home again before May but it's a lot of driving and we had been looking forward to the sightseeing next Autumn. I was wondering is there is anyway we can have the car effectively put in to bonded storage so that it is legally not available to drive . I know that this can be done with yachts in some European countries for VAT purpose. A non EU yacht can only be used in the EU for 18months before VAT is payable, but if the yacht is officially laid up "put in bond" and not available for use the clock can be stopped.

Does anyone know if a similar mechanism exists in Italy for vehicles?
Old Mar 6th 2019, 1:31 pm
BE Enthusiast

C.2s has a reputation beyond reputeC.2s has a reputation beyond reputeC.2s has a reputation beyond reputeC.2s has a reputation beyond reputeC.2s has a reputation beyond reputeC.2s has a reputation beyond reputeC.2s has a reputation beyond reputeC.2s has a reputation beyond reputeC.2s has a reputation beyond reputeC.2s has a reputation beyond reputeC.2s has a reputation beyond repute