Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Europe > Italy
Reload this Page >

Getting SKY Tv in Italy

Getting SKY Tv in Italy

Old Oct 8th 2007, 3:19 pm
  #76  
Pull my finger
 
duffer's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2007
Location: Vicenza
Posts: 4,064
duffer has a reputation beyond reputeduffer has a reputation beyond reputeduffer has a reputation beyond reputeduffer has a reputation beyond reputeduffer has a reputation beyond reputeduffer has a reputation beyond reputeduffer has a reputation beyond reputeduffer has a reputation beyond reputeduffer has a reputation beyond reputeduffer has a reputation beyond reputeduffer has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Getting SKY Tv in Italy

Originally Posted by sangiano View Post
Ciao to you as well!

All channels are perfect - no dropouts at all, unless the raindrops are the size of golf balls!

We occasionally lose the weakest channels from 2D in the worst of a storm, but otherwise no problems.

It's going to be academic shortly as we're moving to the States, which is a shame really, as I like Italy too much - but needs must!
I am contemplating to get a bigger dish... however 120cm is massive!
duffer is offline  
Old Oct 8th 2007, 7:41 pm
  #77  
Forum Regular
 
Joined: Sep 2007
Posts: 140
sangiano is just really nicesangiano is just really nicesangiano is just really nicesangiano is just really nicesangiano is just really nicesangiano is just really nicesangiano is just really nicesangiano is just really nicesangiano is just really nice
Default Re: Getting SKY Tv in Italy

Originally Posted by duffer View Post
I am contemplating to get a bigger dish... however 120cm is massive!
Sorry duffer, I inadvertently told a porkie!

I've just looked at the "invoice" and find it's only a 100cm dish. On the roof it looks slightly bigger than the 60cm dish that was already there, but not abnormally so. The pole is quite a bit thicker than for the 60cm one to:

a) take the increased weight.

b) keep the alignment when it gets windy.

If you've already got an 87cm dish, you probably wouldn't notice the difference in size after a while, but you probably would in reception.

The guys that installed it do all the expats round here (Brits, French, German, Swedes, Dutch, Belgian etc) and really seemed to know their stuff. They said the quality of LNB in particular was important for Astra 2D. A poorer LNB would need a bigger dish, which is more difficult to keep aligned.

Hope that puts your mind at rest.

Last edited by sangiano; Oct 8th 2007 at 7:44 pm.
sangiano is offline  
Old Oct 9th 2007, 8:32 am
  #78  
Pull my finger
 
duffer's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2007
Location: Vicenza
Posts: 4,064
duffer has a reputation beyond reputeduffer has a reputation beyond reputeduffer has a reputation beyond reputeduffer has a reputation beyond reputeduffer has a reputation beyond reputeduffer has a reputation beyond reputeduffer has a reputation beyond reputeduffer has a reputation beyond reputeduffer has a reputation beyond reputeduffer has a reputation beyond reputeduffer has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Getting SKY Tv in Italy

You're forgiven sangiano!

I thought my antennista was an expert but now I am doubting his abilities in setting an 'expat' installations.

He said the LNB was top-notch!

Anyway, I think I could handle a 100cm dish but anything bigger would probably need some special type of pole. I could give back my 87cm dish and probably keep the same LNB.

I suppose you don't know anything about the skew of the LNB improving the signal for the Astra 2D channels? I've read that adjusting the skew helps but the antennista said it wouldn't make a difference.

The people who did your dish are based in your local area?
duffer is offline  
Old Oct 9th 2007, 4:10 pm
  #79  
Forum Regular
 
Joined: Sep 2007
Posts: 140
sangiano is just really nicesangiano is just really nicesangiano is just really nicesangiano is just really nicesangiano is just really nicesangiano is just really nicesangiano is just really nicesangiano is just really nicesangiano is just really nice
Default Re: Getting SKY Tv in Italy

Originally Posted by duffer View Post
You're forgiven sangiano!

I thought my antennista was an expert but now I am doubting his abilities in setting an 'expat' installations.

He said the LNB was top-notch!

Anyway, I think I could handle a 100cm dish but anything bigger would probably need some special type of pole. I could give back my 87cm dish and probably keep the same LNB.

I suppose you don't know anything about the skew of the LNB improving the signal for the Astra 2D channels? I've read that adjusting the skew helps but the antennista said it wouldn't make a difference.

The people who did your dish are based in your local area?
I'm sorry I don't know if they adjusted the skew - at the moment it's beyond my competence.

Yes the installer was local. We have a European Commission Research Centre nearby, so there are about 20 odd different nationalities living in the area. Obviously, everybody wants to watch their own TV, so the local installers have become very expert in selling equipment and setting up dishes for the various countries. I know it was a case of : You want English Sky? You need this.... He didn't need to look anything up. I'd come armed with all the info, but it wasn't needed.

If you have a 0.2dB LNB and it's a decent make you should be fine. I honestly can't remember the exact make of dish and LNB they used. I was a bit more clued up at the time and remember noting that they really had used good equipment.

I seem to remember that the Astra 2D footprint had a good lobe coming down to this area. Since we're on the edge of the footprint, it may be that the small gain from a slightly larger dish makes all the difference. Vicenza isn't really any further south than me.
sangiano is offline  
Old Feb 6th 2008, 11:41 am
  #80  
Just Joined
 
Joined: Feb 2008
Posts: 6
andy1970 is an unknown quantity at this point
Talking Re: Getting SKY Tv in Italy

hi
i know that this reply is months after the question but i have only recently found the website, i live in the north of italy near asti and i bought a telesystem package in mediaworld for 99 euros which consists of a 80cm dish and digibox and fitted myself moved the dish to the astra 28.2 satelite and i recieve all bbc 1,2,3,4 cbbc etc and all itv channels 1,2,3 and film 4 but unfortunately not channel 4 or 5 so theres no subscription or messing around with sky i hope this helps if you still have problems
ciao :
andy1970 is offline  
Old Feb 6th 2008, 3:05 pm
  #81  
Pull my finger
 
duffer's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2007
Location: Vicenza
Posts: 4,064
duffer has a reputation beyond reputeduffer has a reputation beyond reputeduffer has a reputation beyond reputeduffer has a reputation beyond reputeduffer has a reputation beyond reputeduffer has a reputation beyond reputeduffer has a reputation beyond reputeduffer has a reputation beyond reputeduffer has a reputation beyond reputeduffer has a reputation beyond reputeduffer has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Getting SKY Tv in Italy

Originally Posted by andy1970 View Post
hi
i know that this reply is months after the question but i have only recently found the website, i live in the north of italy near asti and i bought a telesystem package in mediaworld for 99 euros which consists of a 80cm dish and digibox and fitted myself moved the dish to the astra 28.2 satelite and i recieve all bbc 1,2,3,4 cbbc etc and all itv channels 1,2,3 and film 4 but unfortunately not channel 4 or 5 so theres no subscription or messing around with sky i hope this helps if you still have problems
ciao :
Hi Andy,

So you'll be watching the first match under The Don on the Beeb tonight?
duffer is offline  
Old Feb 10th 2008, 8:33 pm
  #82  
Just Joined
 
Joined: Feb 2008
Location: We live in Castelnuovo Calcea near Asti.
Posts: 3
crewsit is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: Getting SKY Tv in Italy

Hello

We moved to the Asti area last summer. We bought an 80cm dish and used our old sky box with an old card - no current subscription - we now get all the BBC's and free channels so I dont understand why people are saying you cant. It all depends on how well you align the dish, a gnats wotsit out and you will lose channels. I bought a signal meter to help me get the optimum signal, cost about €20. I stuck the dish up in my vineyard to avoid messing about with the roof or having the dish on the front of the house.

Hope this helps.
crewsit is offline  
Old Feb 10th 2008, 9:54 pm
  #83  
Senior Moment
 
Mitzyboy's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2006
Location: On the edge
Posts: 20,460
Mitzyboy has a reputation beyond reputeMitzyboy has a reputation beyond reputeMitzyboy has a reputation beyond reputeMitzyboy has a reputation beyond reputeMitzyboy has a reputation beyond reputeMitzyboy has a reputation beyond reputeMitzyboy has a reputation beyond reputeMitzyboy has a reputation beyond reputeMitzyboy has a reputation beyond reputeMitzyboy has a reputation beyond reputeMitzyboy has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Getting SKY Tv in Italy

In Spain we need a 1.80 dish to get reasonable service from SKY, and further South in the CDS it can be 2.4 mtrs!
Mitzyboy is offline  
Old Feb 11th 2008, 7:02 am
  #84  
Just Joined
 
Joined: Feb 2008
Posts: 6
andy1970 is an unknown quantity at this point
Talking Re: Getting SKY Tv in Italy

hi crewsit
thanks for the extra info but are you sure it was in your vineyard and not in the neighbours. i ask this because the last time we were their the neighbour was putting his own new entrance in on a little bulldozer.
Originally Posted by crewsit View Post
Hello

We moved to the Asti area last summer. We bought an 80cm dish and used our old sky box with an old card - no current subscription - we now get all the BBC's and free channels so I dont understand why people are saying you cant. It all depends on how well you align the dish, a gnats wotsit out and you will lose channels. I bought a signal meter to help me get the optimum signal, cost about €20. I stuck the dish up in my vineyard to avoid messing about with the roof or having the dish on the front of the house.

Hope this helps.
andy1970 is offline  
Old Feb 11th 2008, 8:12 am
  #85  
The Original Red Head!
 
TestaRossa's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2007
Location: Firenze, Italia
Posts: 4,982
TestaRossa has a reputation beyond reputeTestaRossa has a reputation beyond reputeTestaRossa has a reputation beyond reputeTestaRossa has a reputation beyond reputeTestaRossa has a reputation beyond reputeTestaRossa has a reputation beyond reputeTestaRossa has a reputation beyond reputeTestaRossa has a reputation beyond reputeTestaRossa has a reputation beyond reputeTestaRossa has a reputation beyond reputeTestaRossa has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Getting SKY Tv in Italy

Originally Posted by crewsit View Post
Hello

We moved to the Asti area last summer. We bought an 80cm dish and used our old sky box with an old card - no current subscription - we now get all the BBC's and free channels so I dont understand why people are saying you cant. It all depends on how well you align the dish, a gnats wotsit out and you will lose channels. I bought a signal meter to help me get the optimum signal, cost about €20. I stuck the dish up in my vineyard to avoid messing about with the roof or having the dish on the front of the house.

Hope this helps.

Your location is everything - the further south in Italy you go, the harder it is supposed to be.
TestaRossa is offline  
Old Feb 21st 2008, 12:01 pm
  #86  
Just Joined
 
Joined: Feb 2008
Posts: 7
captinmorgan is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: Getting SKY Tv in Italy

Does anyone know ,of any companies that sell 1.2m sat dishes ,in the north of Italy ,or Italy ,
I have looked on the web but can only find up to 1m dishes , the only option I have found is ,getting one sent from the UK, but the carrage cost are more than the dish ,

Thanks for any help you can give
captinmorgan is offline  
Old Feb 21st 2008, 12:05 pm
  #87  
Pull my finger
 
duffer's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2007
Location: Vicenza
Posts: 4,064
duffer has a reputation beyond reputeduffer has a reputation beyond reputeduffer has a reputation beyond reputeduffer has a reputation beyond reputeduffer has a reputation beyond reputeduffer has a reputation beyond reputeduffer has a reputation beyond reputeduffer has a reputation beyond reputeduffer has a reputation beyond reputeduffer has a reputation beyond reputeduffer has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Getting SKY Tv in Italy

Originally Posted by captinmorgan View Post
Does anyone know ,of any companies that sell 1.2m sat dishes ,in the north of Italy ,or Italy ,
I have looked on the web but can only find up to 1m dishes , the only option I have found is ,getting one sent from the UK, but the carrage cost are more than the dish ,

Thanks for any help you can give
Hi, my satellite man told me he could get hold of most sizes. He's in Vicenza, NE Italy.
Out of interest, whereabouts are you and did you want it for UK TV?
duffer is offline  
Old Feb 21st 2008, 12:12 pm
  #88  
Just Joined
 
Joined: Feb 2008
Posts: 7
captinmorgan is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: Getting SKY Tv in Italy

I am in Feltre ,yes wan to get UK tv ,and UK sky .I have been told by a friend ,that knows about these things ,that I will need a 1.2 dish ,because this size would work better with the footprint coverage
captinmorgan is offline  
Old Feb 21st 2008, 12:32 pm
  #89  
Pull my finger
 
duffer's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2007
Location: Vicenza
Posts: 4,064
duffer has a reputation beyond reputeduffer has a reputation beyond reputeduffer has a reputation beyond reputeduffer has a reputation beyond reputeduffer has a reputation beyond reputeduffer has a reputation beyond reputeduffer has a reputation beyond reputeduffer has a reputation beyond reputeduffer has a reputation beyond reputeduffer has a reputation beyond reputeduffer has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Getting SKY Tv in Italy

Originally Posted by captinmorgan View Post
I am in Feltre ,yes wan to get UK tv ,and UK sky .I have been told by a friend ,that knows about these things ,that I will need a 1.2 dish ,because this size would work better with the footprint coverage
You're not too far from me. About 70km. I've an 87cm dish. I reckon a 100cm dish would be OK for free TV, i.e. BBC + ITV but don't take my world for it ;-)
If you don't want BBC + ITV but only Sky UK then a standard 80cm would be sufficient.
duffer is offline  
Old Feb 21st 2008, 2:57 pm
  #90  
Just Joined
 
Joined: Feb 2008
Posts: 7
captinmorgan is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: Getting SKY Tv in Italy

Do you have the contact details ,of the company, that said he could get all dish sizes , please
captinmorgan is offline  

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.