Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Europe > Italy
Reload this Page >

Getting SKY Tv in Italy

Getting SKY Tv in Italy

Old Jun 14th 2007, 11:29 am
  #31  
Just Joined
 
Joined: Jun 2007
Posts: 2
desrod is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: Getting SKY Tv in Italy

Hi Duffer,

Thanks for the reply.

Its only after I made the post I realised that I can buy the box & subscription separately.

Can you tell me what size dish I will require in San-Remo to receive UK sky ?

... Or can anyone recommend a satellite installer in or around San-Remo to install the dish for me ?

Thanks

Des
desrod is offline  
Old Jun 14th 2007, 11:40 am
  #32  
Pull my finger
 
duffer's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2007
Location: Vicenza
Posts: 4,064
duffer has a reputation beyond reputeduffer has a reputation beyond reputeduffer has a reputation beyond reputeduffer has a reputation beyond reputeduffer has a reputation beyond reputeduffer has a reputation beyond reputeduffer has a reputation beyond reputeduffer has a reputation beyond reputeduffer has a reputation beyond reputeduffer has a reputation beyond reputeduffer has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Getting SKY Tv in Italy

It's a question of size really matters...

However your location is quite good compared with the rest of italy. i doubt a 60cm dish would be sufficient for all the channels - i would say at least 1m or 1.2m would be okay but then i'm no expert! The bigger the dish the better chance you have of picking up a decent reception of all the channels however you also need to make sure you get a good quality dish and lnb input> big dish with poor quality equipment might not be as good as a 80cm dish with good stuff.
Originally Posted by desrod View Post
Hi Duffer,

Thanks for the reply.

Its only after I made the post I realised that I can buy the box & subscription separately.

Can you tell me what size dish I will require in San-Remo to receive UK sky ?

... Or can anyone recommend a satellite installer in or around San-Remo to install the dish for me ?

Thanks

Des
duffer is offline  
Old Jun 16th 2007, 8:58 pm
  #33  
The Original Red Head!
 
TestaRossa's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2007
Location: Firenze, Italia
Posts: 4,982
TestaRossa has a reputation beyond reputeTestaRossa has a reputation beyond reputeTestaRossa has a reputation beyond reputeTestaRossa has a reputation beyond reputeTestaRossa has a reputation beyond reputeTestaRossa has a reputation beyond reputeTestaRossa has a reputation beyond reputeTestaRossa has a reputation beyond reputeTestaRossa has a reputation beyond reputeTestaRossa has a reputation beyond reputeTestaRossa has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Getting SKY Tv in Italy

I've just taken the plunge and signed up for SKY Italia! Only trouble is we aren't getting a signal. Of course sky has activated the account anyway, so at the moment I am paying for a lovely blue screen with an advice message stuck on it!

Sky seems to think it is the dish, which was already here, but I can't see how it can be as we have been getting Freeview channels okay up until now. The sky box doesn't even pick up those. Any thoughts? Could the dish need realigning or have I got a dodgy decoder?
TestaRossa is offline  
Old Jun 21st 2007, 4:28 pm
  #34  
Forum Regular
 
Joined: Jun 2007
Location: Fuengirola, Spain
Posts: 185
spaino is a name known to allspaino is a name known to allspaino is a name known to allspaino is a name known to allspaino is a name known to allspaino is a name known to allspaino is a name known to allspaino is a name known to allspaino is a name known to allspaino is a name known to allspaino is a name known to all
Default Re: Getting SKY Tv in Italy

Here is a map of the footprint along with some other info that might be of help:
http://www.brymar.co.uk/info/Astra/astra.html
spaino is offline  
Old Jun 29th 2007, 11:50 am
  #35  
Just Joined
 
Joined: Jun 2007
Posts: 2
jaeger is an unknown quantity at this point
Question Re: Getting SKY Tv in Italy

Originally Posted by spaino View Post
Here is a map of the footprint along with some other info that might be of help:
http://www.brymar.co.uk/info/Astra/astra.html
Do you know if you can get Sky Uk and Sky Italy on the same receiver provided I have one dish on Astra and one on Hotbird? Eventually what sort of receiver should I look for?

Many thanks in advance for your help.
jaeger is offline  
Old Jun 29th 2007, 12:56 pm
  #36  
Just Joined
 
Joined: Jun 2007
Posts: 2
jaeger is an unknown quantity at this point
Question Re: Getting SKY Tv in Italy

Do you happen to know if you can get Sky UK and Sky Italy with the same receiver?
jaeger is offline  
Old Jun 29th 2007, 1:02 pm
  #37  
Forum Regular
 
CarrieW's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2006
Location: Vicenza, Italia
Posts: 119
CarrieW is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Getting SKY Tv in Italy

Originally Posted by jaeger View Post
Do you happen to know if you can get Sky UK and Sky Italy with the same receiver?
Would not have thought so - think you would need to have two different Sky cards and the dishes need to point in different directions for Italian and UK Sky.
CarrieW is offline  
Old Jun 29th 2007, 1:14 pm
  #38  
The Original Red Head!
 
TestaRossa's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2007
Location: Firenze, Italia
Posts: 4,982
TestaRossa has a reputation beyond reputeTestaRossa has a reputation beyond reputeTestaRossa has a reputation beyond reputeTestaRossa has a reputation beyond reputeTestaRossa has a reputation beyond reputeTestaRossa has a reputation beyond reputeTestaRossa has a reputation beyond reputeTestaRossa has a reputation beyond reputeTestaRossa has a reputation beyond reputeTestaRossa has a reputation beyond reputeTestaRossa has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Getting SKY Tv in Italy

I had an engineer out today - I now have SKY! Problem was a dodgy LNB, too many connections in the house for one Parabola, and SKY needing a stronger signal than Freeview. So only have one connection that works now - but who needs 5 anyway?! A chunck of LNB that looks like a ray gun, but a working SKY signal. Kids watching Scooby Doo - result!!
TestaRossa is offline  
Old Jun 29th 2007, 1:19 pm
  #39  
Forum Regular
 
CarrieW's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2006
Location: Vicenza, Italia
Posts: 119
CarrieW is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Getting SKY Tv in Italy

Originally Posted by TestaRossa View Post
I had an engineer out today - I now have SKY! Problem was a dodgy LNB, too many connections in the house for one Parabola, and SKY needing a stronger signal than Freeview. So only have one connection that works now - but who needs 5 anyway?! A chunck of LNB that looks like a ray gun, but a working SKY signal. Kids watching Scooby Doo - result!!
Yay, welcome back to the TV land of the living! You'll soon be getting fed up of the re-runs on BBC Prime too!

Carrie
CarrieW is offline  
Old Jun 29th 2007, 3:45 pm
  #40  
The Original Red Head!
 
TestaRossa's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2007
Location: Firenze, Italia
Posts: 4,982
TestaRossa has a reputation beyond reputeTestaRossa has a reputation beyond reputeTestaRossa has a reputation beyond reputeTestaRossa has a reputation beyond reputeTestaRossa has a reputation beyond reputeTestaRossa has a reputation beyond reputeTestaRossa has a reputation beyond reputeTestaRossa has a reputation beyond reputeTestaRossa has a reputation beyond reputeTestaRossa has a reputation beyond reputeTestaRossa has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Getting SKY Tv in Italy

I was checking what was on all the channels. Benny Hill! OMG!! Forgotten he's a hit here!
TestaRossa is offline  
Old Jun 29th 2007, 3:49 pm
  #41  
Forum Regular
 
CarrieW's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2006
Location: Vicenza, Italia
Posts: 119
CarrieW is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Getting SKY Tv in Italy

Originally Posted by TestaRossa View Post
I was checking what was on all the channels. Benny Hill! OMG!! Forgotten he's a hit here!
CarrieW is offline  
Old Jul 2nd 2007, 8:06 pm
  #42  
The Original Red Head!
 
TestaRossa's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2007
Location: Firenze, Italia
Posts: 4,982
TestaRossa has a reputation beyond reputeTestaRossa has a reputation beyond reputeTestaRossa has a reputation beyond reputeTestaRossa has a reputation beyond reputeTestaRossa has a reputation beyond reputeTestaRossa has a reputation beyond reputeTestaRossa has a reputation beyond reputeTestaRossa has a reputation beyond reputeTestaRossa has a reputation beyond reputeTestaRossa has a reputation beyond reputeTestaRossa has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Getting SKY Tv in Italy

But it was sooo nice finally catching up with Desparate Housewives... and there's a new season of CSI and....Now I remember why I've avoided having it for 7 months!!
TestaRossa is offline  
Old Jul 11th 2007, 2:37 pm
  #43  
Forum Regular
 
ginty's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 73
ginty is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: Getting SKY Tv in Italy

Originally Posted by TestaRossa View Post
I've just taken the plunge and signed up for SKY Italia! Only trouble is we aren't getting a signal. Of course sky has activated the account anyway, so at the moment I am paying for a lovely blue screen with an advice message stuck on it!

Sky seems to think it is the dish, which was already here, but I can't see how it can be as we have been getting Freeview channels okay up until now. The sky box doesn't even pick up those. Any thoughts? Could the dish need realigning or have I got a dodgy decoder?
Hi TestaRossa
Hope you don't mind me asking, but how much does Sky Italia cost per month? Is it similar to England - it's approx £45 per month here now!
ginty is offline  
Old Jul 12th 2007, 1:49 pm
  #44  
The Original Red Head!
 
TestaRossa's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2007
Location: Firenze, Italia
Posts: 4,982
TestaRossa has a reputation beyond reputeTestaRossa has a reputation beyond reputeTestaRossa has a reputation beyond reputeTestaRossa has a reputation beyond reputeTestaRossa has a reputation beyond reputeTestaRossa has a reputation beyond reputeTestaRossa has a reputation beyond reputeTestaRossa has a reputation beyond reputeTestaRossa has a reputation beyond reputeTestaRossa has a reputation beyond reputeTestaRossa has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Getting SKY Tv in Italy

Hi, I have Sky Mondo - same as Sky World but transplant Rai and Mediaset for BBC, ITV etc. plus cinema and sport, but not Calcio (football) which is a separate premium channel on its own here, not in with the sports channels. I will pay about €48 for this I think. I think inc. Calcio it is €59 a month - so not that far off the UK price. All the Fox channels can be watched in English as can any channel that is US/British in origin plus the film channels. However if a US/British programme is on an Italian channel you can't change the language. Friends and Buffy is still big here so that's something ! The funniest is Bob the Builder in Italian, "Vai, vai Bob!"
TestaRossa is offline  
Old Jul 12th 2007, 6:46 pm
  #45  
Just Joined
 
Joined: Jul 2007
Posts: 1
Housearoundsardinia is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: Getting SKY Tv in Italy

Originally Posted by Gail1 View Post
Hi,

I was wondering if anyone has any information about English speaking TV in Italy, specifically Northern Italy?

Can we get it through a satellite installed directly in Italy by an Italian company or is it better to bring an existing SKY dish over?

Thanks for any info.
Best to get it sorted directly in Italy. Try UniEuro or one of the other big electrical retailers, they often have deals like in UK, free dish and installation when you sign up for a 12 month package
Housearoundsardinia is offline  

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.