Reload this Page >

Getting mobile in Italy (car)

Getting mobile in Italy (car)

Old Jun 14th 2018, 4:22 pm
Just Joined

David.A is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Getting mobile in Italy (car)

Ciao,
Can someone please offer some advice regarding getting mobile for the first time after becoming a Resident in Italy?
I am now an official Resident in Northern Italy, and have a Carte D'Identita, Codice Fiscale and Tessera Sanitaria etc. I am looking to buy a small (bumper) car to get around and am after some advice about buying a car, and the pitfalls and red tape that come with it. I will obviously need Insurance, Tax and Mot advice too before I enter the world of the unknown. Buying the car can't be that difficult but I've heard that theres a lot of extras to consider. I am not yet fluent Italian (no where near) and definitely do not yet understand 'car lingo' so if anyone can offer some guidance to what I should know and ask when arranging all of this it will be greatly appreciated.
Thank you so much everyone in advance! I await your replies..
Old Jun 15th 2018, 5:38 am
BE Forum Addict

modicasa has a reputation beyond reputemodicasa has a reputation beyond reputemodicasa has a reputation beyond reputemodicasa has a reputation beyond reputemodicasa has a reputation beyond reputemodicasa has a reputation beyond reputemodicasa has a reputation beyond reputemodicasa has a reputation beyond reputemodicasa has a reputation beyond reputemodicasa has a reputation beyond reputemodicasa has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Getting mobile in Italy (car)

Are you buying new or 2nd hand? A fiat is always a good option, parts and labour are cheap - especially compared to Japanese cars. It depends what you want and need.
Old Jun 15th 2018, 6:04 am
Just Joined

David.A is an unknown quantity at this point

Thank you for the reply. It will be a second hand Fiat 500 (around 5 years old).
Old Jun 15th 2018, 7:42 am
BE Forum Addict