IT work (visa required?)

Old Aug 1st 2007, 3:30 pm
  #1  
Forum Regular
Thread Starter
 
Joined: Aug 2007
Posts: 205
CaptainMerton has much to be proud ofCaptainMerton has much to be proud ofCaptainMerton has much to be proud ofCaptainMerton has much to be proud ofCaptainMerton has much to be proud ofCaptainMerton has much to be proud ofCaptainMerton has much to be proud ofCaptainMerton has much to be proud ofCaptainMerton has much to be proud ofCaptainMerton has much to be proud ofCaptainMerton has much to be proud of
Default IT work (visa required?)

I intend to move to Australia in around a years time. I have around 6 years IT experience and have most recently worked in a FTSE 100 bank doing some test management and project management. I want to join my girlfriend in Sydney and get It contract work when I arrive. I am still eligible (just) for the Working Holiday visa. Does anyone have any experience of getting IT contract work under this visa? Would I be making a mistake going under this visa?

Any guidance on getting work/visas required much appreciated.
CaptainMerton is offline  
Old Aug 4th 2007, 10:28 am
  #2  
BE Forum Addict
 
scrum's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 1,629
scrum has much to be proud ofscrum has much to be proud ofscrum has much to be proud ofscrum has much to be proud ofscrum has much to be proud ofscrum has much to be proud ofscrum has much to be proud ofscrum has much to be proud ofscrum has much to be proud ofscrum has much to be proud ofscrum has much to be proud of
Default Re: IT work (visa required?)

Originally Posted by CaptainMerton View Post
I intend to move to Australia in around a years time. I have around 6 years IT experience and have most recently worked in a FTSE 100 bank doing some test management and project management. I want to join my girlfriend in Sydney and get It contract work when I arrive. I am still eligible (just) for the Working Holiday visa. Does anyone have any experience of getting IT contract work under this visa? Would I be making a mistake going under this visa?

Any guidance on getting work/visas required much appreciated.
If you want advise you can't do any better than Peter Chiam of Ptlabs.

He specialises in getting visas etc for IT candidates.

Just search for his details or go to www.ptlabs.com.au
scrum is offline  
Old Aug 6th 2007, 2:42 am
  #3  
 
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 13,233
gedge has disabled reputation
Default Re: IT work (visa required?)

Originally Posted by CaptainMerton View Post
I intend to move to Australia in around a years time. I have around 6 years IT experience and have most recently worked in a FTSE 100 bank doing some test management and project management. I want to join my girlfriend in Sydney and get It contract work when I arrive. I am still eligible (just) for the Working Holiday visa. Does anyone have any experience of getting IT contract work under this visa? Would I be making a mistake going under this visa?

Any guidance on getting work/visas required much appreciated.
it's an ok option and perhaps a good one for the time being
are you considering anything more long term than the 2 years that the WHV gives you?
there are restrictions to consider regarding the length of time you can work for one employer, this may limit your options
i believe that is still valid info, it was over 10 years back when I did what you're suggesting, check the WHV web page to be certain
i just looked, it is 6 months

although there are no guarantees, Sydney will give you the best chances for finding work
gedge is offline  
Old Aug 6th 2007, 1:48 pm
  #4  
Forum Regular
Thread Starter
 
Joined: Aug 2007
Posts: 205
CaptainMerton has much to be proud ofCaptainMerton has much to be proud ofCaptainMerton has much to be proud ofCaptainMerton has much to be proud ofCaptainMerton has much to be proud ofCaptainMerton has much to be proud ofCaptainMerton has much to be proud ofCaptainMerton has much to be proud ofCaptainMerton has much to be proud ofCaptainMerton has much to be proud ofCaptainMerton has much to be proud of
Default Re: IT work (visa required?)

On further investigation I intend to go over on the WH visa but get a skills assessment done before i go with the intention of starting an independent skilled 136 visa application from inside australia. If all went well i wouldnt be intending to come back.
CaptainMerton is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.