Does he need to do the asc test?

Old Mar 22nd 2007, 3:00 pm
  #1  
BE Enthusiast
Thread Starter
 
Joined: Mar 2007
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 835
TMRE is a splendid one to beholdTMRE is a splendid one to beholdTMRE is a splendid one to beholdTMRE is a splendid one to beholdTMRE is a splendid one to beholdTMRE is a splendid one to beholdTMRE is a splendid one to beholdTMRE is a splendid one to beholdTMRE is a splendid one to beholdTMRE is a splendid one to beholdTMRE is a splendid one to behold
Default Does he need to do the asc test?

We are thinking of applying for a 136 visa to come over to Brisbane. My husband is currently employed in London as a senior analyst/programmer. He has worked in the city for 8 years with various financial banks, etc and is currently employed in a back office role for a hedge fund. He has a degree in Science but decided to go down the IT route. Will he have to get his skills assessed to apply for a visa, or will the fact that he has been working for 8 years doing this type of job and that he has worked for some major banks be all he needs. Being a non IT nerd (as he calls me!) all i know is that he has used c,c# c++, SQL, .net and loads of others( please excuse my ignorance it's all mumbo jumbo to me ) Also are there many jobs going for this type of role?
Thanks for reading
TMRE is offline  
Old Mar 22nd 2007, 10:02 pm
  #2  
Forum Regular
 
Joined: Jul 2005
Posts: 79
ed_the_lad is just really niceed_the_lad is just really niceed_the_lad is just really niceed_the_lad is just really niceed_the_lad is just really niceed_the_lad is just really niceed_the_lad is just really niceed_the_lad is just really niceed_the_lad is just really nice
Default Re: Does he need to do the asc test?

Yes, all those IT skills are mumbo jumbo to the visa assessor aswell, that is why the ACS skills assessment is required.
ed_the_lad is offline  
Old Mar 23rd 2007, 10:09 am
  #3  
Forum Regular
 
Joined: Apr 2006
Location: VIC
Posts: 228
sunburn is just really nicesunburn is just really nicesunburn is just really nicesunburn is just really nicesunburn is just really nicesunburn is just really nicesunburn is just really nicesunburn is just really nicesunburn is just really nicesunburn is just really nice
Default Re: Does he need to do the asc test?

If his degree is non-IT then he will need to rely on his relevant work experience to obtain a skills assessment. There are different options requiring different years of experience.

Check the ACS website for details.
www.acs.org.au

sunburn is offline  
Old Apr 1st 2007, 6:55 am
  #4  
Ex Mod (2002-2005)
 
ptlabs's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2002
Location: NSW
Posts: 5,464
ptlabs has a reputation beyond reputeptlabs has a reputation beyond reputeptlabs has a reputation beyond reputeptlabs has a reputation beyond reputeptlabs has a reputation beyond reputeptlabs has a reputation beyond reputeptlabs has a reputation beyond reputeptlabs has a reputation beyond reputeptlabs has a reputation beyond reputeptlabs has a reputation beyond reputeptlabs has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Does he need to do the asc test?

Originally Posted by TMRE View Post
We are thinking of applying for a 136 visa to come over to Brisbane. My husband is currently employed in London as a senior analyst/programmer. He has worked in the city for 8 years with various financial banks, etc and is currently employed in a back office role for a hedge fund. He has a degree in Science but decided to go down the IT route. Will he have to get his skills assessed to apply for a visa, or will the fact that he has been working for 8 years doing this type of job and that he has worked for some major banks be all he needs. Being a non IT nerd (as he calls me!) all i know is that he has used c,c# c++, SQL, .net and loads of others( please excuse my ignorance it's all mumbo jumbo to me ) Also are there many jobs going for this type of role?
If your husband is the main applicant for your 136 visa, then the answer is yes, he has to go through the ACS, potentially through the RPL (recognition of prior learning) process.


Peter
ptlabs is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.