Working on bridging visa

Old Apr 8th 2018, 8:18 am
BE Forum Addict

verystormy has a reputation beyond reputeverystormy has a reputation beyond reputeverystormy has a reputation beyond reputeverystormy has a reputation beyond reputeverystormy has a reputation beyond reputeverystormy has a reputation beyond reputeverystormy has a reputation beyond reputeverystormy has a reputation beyond reputeverystormy has a reputation beyond reputeverystormy has a reputation beyond reputeverystormy has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Working on bridging visa

Originally Posted by Dondons1uk
Thank you all very helpful

Re applying onshore we were told it could also be up to two years. We are in a tiny flat no lift 3 floors up with a baby and have to move as it’s not suitable. We considered relocating in uk whilst waiting but will be wasting thousands in rent.

We spoke to an immigration lawyer who suggested applying onshore.

Re working as a lawyer my qualifications are with the board now and a recruiter has suggested I can work as a special counsel or paralegal in the meantime for law firms or other related work.

It’s concerning that people may be put off by a bridging visa ..... thanks for your replies
In theory you can work as a paralegal, but, the reality of doing so on a bridging visa and without training in Australian law is another matter. While the two legal systems have similarities they are in practise completely different.
Old Apr 8th 2018, 8:48 am
Home and Happy

Location: Keep true friends and puppets close, trust no-one else...
Pollyana has a reputation beyond reputePollyana has a reputation beyond reputePollyana has a reputation beyond reputePollyana has a reputation beyond reputePollyana has a reputation beyond reputePollyana has a reputation beyond reputePollyana has a reputation beyond reputePollyana has a reputation beyond reputePollyana has a reputation beyond reputePollyana has a reputation beyond reputePollyana has a reputation beyond repute

Thanks