Visa Question

Old Jan 10th 2016, 5:25 am
Just Joined

Pigilene is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Visa Question

Hello all,

I just added this here as I saw 'Queensland', I apologize if I've done the classic 'post before reading'. I'm trying to read as much as I can, although some pointers in the right direction would be very much appreciated

I've been in contact with a migration lawyer in Queensland and he came back yesterday with the news that sponsorship is my best option.

My profession is in schedule 2, I am an English (as a foreign/second) language teacher which I've been doing for 11 years in various countries.

Does 'sponsorship' mean by the employer or by the territory/government? The few English teaching jobs I've seen so far want the under 30 year old work visa and do not offer sponsorship.

What is the possibility of coming in on this visa and turning it into permanent residency?

I know age is a factor as I'll be 44 in March, but I'd like to join my brother and his family in Queensland, after my first visit over Christmas I totally understand why he emigrated.

I've been told that I can be sponsored upto the age of 50, but what happens then? Do I have to leave?

Another option is retraining, studying at an Australian university to be a secondary school teacher which is on schedule 1. The more I think about the more I like this option as weirdly teenagers are my favourite ages to teach.

I'd like to know, what is the possibility of studying and then gaining employment and permanent residency?

Either I could come in on a sponsorship visa and work and study, or on a student visa.

I asked the lawyer these questions but he didn't answer.

I'm in the progress of investigating all options, including updating my CV and contacting universities to see if the experience I have already in teaching can be credited to any course I may do.

I did a skills test for points online, and I have 50, Is the minimum 60?