Visa for my mum aged 52yrs

Old Jul 2nd 2012, 2:20 pm
Just Joined

morgan6220 is an unknown quantity at this point
Exclamation Visa for my mum aged 52yrs

Hi all

Could someone please advise me on visas for my mum. I am 26 years old and considering going to perth to work under a two year sponsership as I am a qualified nurse from the UK.

I was hoping my mum could come out with me, she is 52 years old and a widow she has no living family in the UK. What are the options for her regarding visas please help???????? she is not financially dependent on me.

Advise appreciated.[/B]
Old Jul 2nd 2012, 3:06 pm
BE Forum Addict

rammygirl has a reputation beyond reputerammygirl has a reputation beyond reputerammygirl has a reputation beyond reputerammygirl has a reputation beyond reputerammygirl has a reputation beyond reputerammygirl has a reputation beyond reputerammygirl has a reputation beyond reputerammygirl has a reputation beyond reputerammygirl has a reputation beyond reputerammygirl has a reputation beyond reputerammygirl has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Visa for my mum aged 52yrs

I assume by what you say the visa you are going on is the 457 employer sponsored visa. if so this is a temp visa so your mum cannot apply to join you on a parent visa.
Unless she has a skill that employers also need and get herself sponsored that way, then her only option would be a long stay visitors visa. These can be obtained for visits of 6-12 months, but she cannot work and cannot "live" in Oz. She must intend to return to the UK and show ties there. In between such visas she will need to spend at least 3 months in the UK.

If you stay and get PR then after you are settled (normally by being in Oz 2 years) and she passes the balance of family test then she could consider the parent visas available.
Old Jul 3rd 2012, 3:13 am
The Mango King