British Expats

British Expats (https://britishexpats.com/forum/)
-   Immigration, Visas & Citizenship (Australia) (https://britishexpats.com/forum/immigration-visas-citizenship-australia-32/)
-   -   Visa help to Australia (https://britishexpats.com/forum/immigration-visas-citizenship-australia-32/visa-help-australia-899760/)

Stormfox Jul 18th 2017 12:11 pm

Visa help to Australia

Hi Guys, we need a little bit of help please.

We are thinking of making the big move to Australia but can't get my head around the visa applications.

My wife is a registered nurse with over 10 years experience and I'm a marketing manager with 7 years experience. We also have two boys aged 2 and 4. We are both 34 years old.

Looking at the visa info, my wife could be accepted on the long term skills list as a nurse, however I would only be accepted on a short term nominated basis.

However can I apply on my wife's visa allowing me longer term non nominated working opportunities?

Any advice would be great!

Many thanks.

quoll Jul 18th 2017 2:33 pm

Re: Visa help to Australia

You don't need to apply for your own visa. If your wife is eligible based on her skills then she is the primary visa applicant then the rest of the family are listed as her dependents. You can then work at whatever job you can get.

verystormy Jul 18th 2017 3:00 pm

Hi and welcome

Yes, you only need one of you to be the main applicant and the other members of the family go on that application. Once visas are granted, everyone gets their own independent permanent visas.

So, the first thing to look at are:
Is your wife degree or diploma qualified?
Any medical issues with any of the family members?

If the above are ok, the first thing is to look at points. She needs a minimum of 60. This needs care as any over claim can result in a refusal. Many people find they are short of points and the most common way of boosting is to take an English test such as ILETS.