Skills assesment on a 457???

Old Mar 12th 2008, 8:48 am
  #1  
Forum Regular
Thread Starter
 
wbbugs's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2007
Location: Baulkham Hills, NSW
Posts: 37
wbbugs will become famous soon enough
Default Skills assesment on a 457???

Hello peeps

I have had a sponsorship offer through from a company in OZ and they have sent me the visa application to fill in. I am a graphics pre press tradesperson with 10 years experience but have no qualifications in my trade. I need to put my on the job training and skills on the application but will they ask me for a assessment to be done? Even though i have a job offer. My salary meets the required salary on the gazette listing but my trade is not on the MODL, but is on the Skills shortage list.

Any else been through this. What did you have to do???

Cheers everyone
wbbugs is offline  
Old Mar 12th 2008, 11:02 am
  #2  
BE Forum Addict
 
winedonju's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2007
Location: A very scary place!!
Posts: 2,558
winedonju is a splendid one to beholdwinedonju is a splendid one to beholdwinedonju is a splendid one to beholdwinedonju is a splendid one to beholdwinedonju is a splendid one to beholdwinedonju is a splendid one to beholdwinedonju is a splendid one to beholdwinedonju is a splendid one to beholdwinedonju is a splendid one to beholdwinedonju is a splendid one to beholdwinedonju is a splendid one to behold
Default Re: Skills assesment on a 457???

Originally Posted by wbbugs View Post
Hello peeps

I have had a sponsorship offer through from a company in OZ and they have sent me the visa application to fill in. I am a graphics pre press tradesperson with 10 years experience but have no qualifications in my trade. I need to put my on the job training and skills on the application but will they ask me for a assessment to be done? Even though i have a job offer. My salary meets the required salary on the gazette listing but my trade is not on the MODL, but is on the Skills shortage list.

Any else been through this. What did you have to do???

Cheers everyone
Hi,
I'm sorry, no help to you, but am keen to see your responses. We are in a simular situation (except different trade), and no actual job offer yet...so not quite simular but close enough. lol.
Anyway we had the same thoughts etc, so good luck with the replies.
Donna.
winedonju is offline  
Old Mar 12th 2008, 4:48 pm
  #3  
 
saraliz's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2003
Location: Fremantle
Posts: 675
saraliz is a glorious beacon of lightsaraliz is a glorious beacon of lightsaraliz is a glorious beacon of lightsaraliz is a glorious beacon of lightsaraliz is a glorious beacon of lightsaraliz is a glorious beacon of lightsaraliz is a glorious beacon of lightsaraliz is a glorious beacon of lightsaraliz is a glorious beacon of lightsaraliz is a glorious beacon of lightsaraliz is a glorious beacon of light
Default Re: Skills assesment on a 457???

For a 457 visa application, the processing case officer must be satisfied that you are "skilled" to an appropriate level. Although the case officer has the right to request that you complete a skills assessment, in reality this very rarely occurs. Instead, the case officer will likely want to see some letters of reference from your current and previous employers detailing the positions and duties you have performed as evidence of your skill level.

Cheers

Sara
saraliz is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2022 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.