Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Australia > Immigration, Visas & Citizenship (Australia)
Reload this Page >

Questions about immigration options for British IT professionals

Questions about immigration options for British IT professionals

Old May 14th 2006, 7:52 pm
Just Joined

danh is an unknown quantity at this point
Unhappy Questions about immigration options for British IT professionals

Hi Guys,

I almost just spent 200 quid on one of these migration agents websites, thinking the quick assessment result meant it was really that simple to go the skilled migration route, but after reading around the subject I'm now of the opinion that i wont meet the requirements.

I was hoping for some opinions and advice.

I'm 27, as is my partner, we are both IT contractors in London, we have both visited Australia before on Working Holiday Visas.

I have been working in IT for 9 years but have only worked 5 years of that 9 years, including the last year and half. ( i have spent a lot of time traveling and took 2 years out to teach martial arts).

I have several Cisco certifications and a MCSE. My last two contracts have been with 2 of the largest banks in the world.

My girlfriend, well she is a Web Designer/Project Manager who is currently contracting for a government agency.

We would like to emigrate to Australia, in particular Sydney.

But, when reading about the skills assessment on the ACS site it seems that i need a degree, in fact degrees and diplomas (which really aren't that useful in IT contracting over here) seem to be essential. This seems odd as my Cisco qualifications took a long time to study for, and a far more in demand by employers than a degree.

It also seems the RPL route requires at least 6 years, and that i would really need 8 as i would have to use 2 years experience to cover my lack of degree!

To be honest I'm a little depressed now as i thought that a highly skilled couple like us would have little trouble emigrating.