NZ telephone connectors

Old Jul 22nd 2002, 11:40 pm
  #1  
Forum Regular
Thread Starter
 
Joined: Feb 2002
Location: Christchurch
Posts: 49
p__sullivan is an unknown quantity at this point
Default NZ telephone connectors

I have a quick question for anyone who is using a modem in NZ. Do you need a different cable end to connect to NZ telephone sockets than ones used in the UK? I’m taking a laptop out and don’t know whether I will need to buy a new connector.

Cheers

Paul
p__sullivan is offline  
Old Jul 23rd 2002, 1:13 am
  #2  
Migration Agent
 
Joined: May 2002
Location: Offices in Melbourne, Brisbane, Perth, Geelong (Australia), and Southampton (UK)
Posts: 6,441
Alan Collett has a reputation beyond reputeAlan Collett has a reputation beyond reputeAlan Collett has a reputation beyond reputeAlan Collett has a reputation beyond reputeAlan Collett has a reputation beyond reputeAlan Collett has a reputation beyond reputeAlan Collett has a reputation beyond reputeAlan Collett has a reputation beyond reputeAlan Collett has a reputation beyond reputeAlan Collett has a reputation beyond reputeAlan Collett has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: NZ telephone connectors

Paul,

This site might help you ...
http://www.teleadapt.com

Best regards.
Alan Collett is offline  
Old Jul 23rd 2002, 2:55 am
  #3  
Forum Regular
 
Joined: Feb 2002
Posts: 127
lmaynard is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: NZ telephone connectors

Quick answer is no...
lmaynard is offline  
Old Jul 23rd 2002, 2:55 am
  #4  
Forum Regular
 
Joined: Feb 2002
Posts: 127
lmaynard is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: NZ telephone connectors

.... no you won'y need a new connector as they are the same.
lmaynard is offline  
Old Jul 23rd 2002, 8:20 am
  #5  
Ian Guy
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: NZ telephone connectors

Don't forget to change your country settings in control panel - if still on a UK
setting it won't connect (different dial tone)

Sorry may have posted to individual users by mistake!

"p__sullivan" <[email protected]> wrote in message
news:[email protected]...
    > I have a quick question for anyone who is using a modem in NZ. Do you need a
    > different cable end to connect to NZ telephone sockets than ones used in the UK?
    > I'm taking a laptop out and don't know whether I will need to buy a new connector.
    >
    > Cheers
    >
    > Paul
    >
    >
    >
    > --
 
Old Jul 23rd 2002, 11:12 am
  #6  
Forum Regular
Thread Starter
 
Joined: Feb 2002
Location: Christchurch
Posts: 49
p__sullivan is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: NZ telephone connectors

Thanks for the advice.. I’d forgotten about changing the dial tone.. I use broadband and so going back to dial up will be “interesting�. Now all I have to do is work out an ISP to go with!

Cheers

Paul
p__sullivan is offline  
Old Jul 24th 2002, 2:20 pm
  #7  
Ian Guy
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: NZ telephone connectors

There is a guide on the NZ equivalent Which magazine (called Consumer I think). There
was a link one of the NZ newsgroups. High speed stuff only exist in residential areas
(I'm stuck on 40 - 45 kbps). If you can get Jetstream it is good.

"p__sullivan" <[email protected]> wrote in message
news:[email protected]...
    > Thanks for the advice.. I'd forgotten about changing the dial tone.. I use
    > broadband and so going back to dial up will be "interesting". Now all I have to do
    > is work out an ISP to go with!
    >
    > Cheers
    >
    > Paul
    >
    >
    >
    > --
 

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.