my agent upped his fee!

Old Dec 13th 2010, 1:00 am
Forum Regular

emonje is an unknown quantity at this point
Exclamation my agent upped his fee!

I have applied for 176 visa and have been using an agent. My DIAC application was lodged in Dec 2009 as 175 and got WA sponsorship in June 2010. Then all things went into limbo.

Now that WA has released its SMP and my occupation is in the list, my agent mails me saying that I have to pay him substantially more than what was agreed upon in our cost agreement if he is to continue to work for me. He says that due to these unprecedented changes, expenses will exceed the amount set in our agreement. He is supposed to send me a revised cost agreement soon.

This is a very nasty surprise or me. I didn't find anything regarding adjusting cost depending on situation. Everywhere it said "Fixed fee" & similar.

Can anyone please tell me if he is entitled to change cost agreement like this?
Thanks for your time.
Old Dec 13th 2010, 1:02 am
Home and Happy

Location: Keep true friends and puppets close, trust no-one else...
Pollyana has a reputation beyond reputePollyana has a reputation beyond reputePollyana has a reputation beyond reputePollyana has a reputation beyond reputePollyana has a reputation beyond reputePollyana has a reputation beyond reputePollyana has a reputation beyond reputePollyana has a reputation beyond reputePollyana has a reputation beyond reputePollyana has a reputation beyond reputePollyana has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: my agent upped his fee!

Originally Posted by emonje
I have applied for 176 visa and have been using an agent. My DIAC application was lodged in Dec 2009 as 175 and got WA sponsorship in June 2010. Then all things went into limbo.