Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Australia > Immigration, Visas & Citizenship (Australia)
Reload this Page >

Message to SS applicants - new changes play in your hand.

Message to SS applicants - new changes play in your hand.

Old Mar 6th 2010, 2:59 am
Just Joined

Avstral is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Message to SS applicants - new changes play in your hand.

Hi everyone,

There has been a lot grief on the phorum regarding the new changes from the 8th of Feb.
Let's try to look at it from the different perspective.

I applied for SS (NSW), non CSL, non MODL in May 2009, got a case officer within 20 days, submitted meds and police check and then suddenly my application was put on ice in September.
I have a PhD, 5 years of work experience in Oz (457 visa), NSW sponsorship, I've paid hundreds thousands in taxes and I had to give a way to all hairdressers and cooks who spent 6 months studying some course in OZ to receive the CSL priority and become taxi drivers. Not too bad....

I hope finally there will be some justice and I would like to thank Chris Evans for that. Finally OZ will be looking to accept those applicants who are really skilled. Actually, the justice has already happened to me, I got my 176 visa last week. I believe it could only happen cos now the case officers have some time to look at the 5th category - State Sponsored applicants and maybe even 6th category - MODL and family sponsored.

To cut long story short I got a message to all Cat 5 applicants - you are the clear winners from the new changes, it is not going to be three years for you to get a visa, it is coming. And it is coming soon......
Good luck to all of you!
Fingers crossed!
Old Mar 6th 2010, 4:04 am
Forum Regular

azakir is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Message to SS applicants - new changes play in your hand.

Originally Posted by Avstral
Hi everyone,

There has been a lot grief on the phorum regarding the new changes from the 8th of Feb.