British Expats

British Expats (https://britishexpats.com/forum/)
-   Immigration, Visas & Citizenship (Australia) (https://britishexpats.com/forum/immigration-visas-citizenship-australia-32/)
-   -   Instrument technician in England (https://britishexpats.com/forum/immigration-visas-citizenship-australia-32/instrument-technician-england-744442/)

scottcrosby Jan 10th 2012 8:24 am

Instrument technician in England

Hello everyone,

Right im looking at moving to Australia in a few years and really dont know where to start as my trade is not on the TRA. I am an instrument technician from London and would like to move to Melbourne or Perth in order to have a new life with my family.

What i am wondering is:
1) How i would get over to australia to begin looking for a career?
2) Is there many instrument technician jobs available - oil rigs, refineries, power stations etc
3) Would i need to do any Australian qualifications even though im fully qualified in this country?

Any help at all would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

newjersey Jan 10th 2012 9:18 am

Re: Instrument technician in England

Originally Posted by scottcrosby (Post 9832253)
Hello everyone,

Right im looking at moving to Australia in a few years and really dont know where to start as my trade is not on the TRA. I am an instrument technician from London and would like to move to Melbourne or Perth in order to have a new life with my family.

What i am wondering is:
1) How i would get over to australia to begin looking for a career?
2) Is there many instrument technician jobs available - oil rigs, refineries, power stations etc
3) Would i need to do any Australian qualifications even though im fully qualified in this country?

Any help at all would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

Hi and welcome to BE. This comes up quite often, so the advice here is quite generic -