Wikiposts

EN Mental Health

Old Jan 14th 2008, 10:49 pm
Just Joined

BilboB is an unknown quantity at this point
Unhappy EN Mental Health

Hi all,

After a trip to visit my sister in Bridgewater, Adelaide, SA late last year we have decided that the lure of Adelaide is too much to bear so we have just started to look generally at if this move would be possible.

I am an Enrolled Nurse in Mental Health in England (they call us level 2 registered nurses now but that was just a way of getting round some of the legal stuff). I have worked for nearly 20 years in rehab with those who suffer long term major mental illness. More recently I have moved to work in Forensic care (Psychiatric prison service), mainly working with Personality disorders.

I have discovered that the NBSA maintain a Roll of EN nurses, so I would hope that finding work shouldn't be too much of a problem.

However, I found the following on Information sheet 1121i - http://www.immi.gov.au/allforms/pdf/1121i.pdf

Enrolled Nurses - There is no nominated occupation with corresponding ASCO code under the Skilled Occupation List for Enrolled Nurse, Registered Nurse (Division 2) Licensed Practical Nurse or Nurse Assistant. Nurses who have these qualifications are not able to apply for assessment of their skills under General Skilled Migration.

The Regional Sponsored Migration Scheme and the Employer Nominated Scheme both also talk about any position being on the Skilled Ocupation List, so thats a no I guess. Please PLEASE correct me if I am wrong, but this leaves me with family sponsorship which presents its own problems.