Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Australia > Immigration, Visas & Citizenship (Australia)
Reload this Page >

Deported from U.S. will I be able to apply for Australian visa?

Deported from U.S. will I be able to apply for Australian visa?

Old Mar 31st 2012, 11:10 pm
Just Joined

ybird80 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Deported from U.S. will I be able to apply for Australian visa?

I am currently a serving Cheshire police officer in the UK and I want to transfer to South Australia police.
Between November 2000 to May 2003 I overstayed on the US visa waiver programme. I left the US of my own accord in May 2003 returning home to the UK.
In December 2008 I returned to the US to do Christmas shopping to be told I could not enter and was deported with a 10 year ban.

What I need to know will this affect my application to SAP and my chance of immigrating to Australia?
Old Mar 31st 2012, 11:12 pm
Crazy Cat Lady

moneypenny20 has a reputation beyond reputemoneypenny20 has a reputation beyond reputemoneypenny20 has a reputation beyond reputemoneypenny20 has a reputation beyond reputemoneypenny20 has a reputation beyond reputemoneypenny20 has a reputation beyond reputemoneypenny20 has a reputation beyond reputemoneypenny20 has a reputation beyond reputemoneypenny20 has a reputation beyond reputemoneypenny20 has a reputation beyond reputemoneypenny20 has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Deported from U.S. will I be able to apply for Australian visa?

Australia obviously have no connection to the US so it should have no bearing. You will be asked in your application if you've had other visas and you will have to be honest about the circumstances but it's unlikely to cause a refusal as far as I'm aware.
Old Mar 31st 2012, 11:31 pm
Still alive