British Expats

British Expats (https://britishexpats.com/forum/)
-   Immigration, Visas & Citizenship (Australia) (https://britishexpats.com/forum/immigration-visas-citizenship-australia-32/)
-   -   Dentist - ADC Process v. Dept of Imm Process (https://britishexpats.com/forum/immigration-visas-citizenship-australia-32/dentist-adc-process-v-dept-imm-process-779769/)

Ash69 Dec 6th 2012 2:19 am

Dentist - ADC Process v. Dept of Imm Process

Hi All,

Appreciate any insights on this topic. My wife is a dentist and we are thinking about immigrating to Australia (my occupation is not on the SOL/CSOL).

We're a little unclear on timing and sequencing:

1) ADC (Australia Dental Council): has four steps an overseas dentist must complete prior to being eligible for registration/licensure to practice: (1) Initial Assessment ~8 weeks from submission of docs; (2) English Language Test; (3) Preliminary (written) exam*; (4) Final (clinical) exam. [* Per the ADC website, the next date for doing this is in March '13, but the one after that will only be in early 2014].

2) Dept of IMM Process (GSM): I know there are numerous classes/sub-classes, but the gist of the SkillSelect seems to be that for dentists, before you can file an Expression of Interest (EOI), you have to have the English test results and a satisfactory outcome of the ADC's initial assessment.

My question is the following: assuming my wife files the EOI based on satisfactory English test results and satisfactory ADC assessment, will the Dept of Imm process continue as with any other application, or will it essentially put the application on "hold" until my wife completes the Preliminary (written) application - which will only be 2014 at the earliest?

Concerned about this b/c it if the latter it would clearly add a lot of time to the overall processing time.

Appreciate your views/thoughts.

Cheers,

Ash

newjersey Dec 6th 2012 5:30 pm

Re: Dentist - ADC Process v. Dept of Imm Process