Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Australia > Immigration, Visas & Citizenship (Australia)
Reload this Page >

Aus Permanent Resident wants to move to NZ to work for 1 year, any complications?

Aus Permanent Resident wants to move to NZ to work for 1 year, any complications?

Old Apr 25th 2011, 5:52 am
Just Joined

Storm Petrel is an unknown quantity at this point
Question Aus Permanent Resident wants to move to NZ to work for 1 year, any complications?

Hi,

I am an Australian Permanent resident who want to move to NZ for 1 year to work.

I realise I can move to NZ and get the NZ residency visa upon arrival, but I am wondering if there will be any complications on my return to Australia?

In the following link in the "Treaty Rights" section, it is mentioned that:

http://britishexpats.com/wiki/Pros_a...an_Citizenship

Treaty Rights

An Australian passport gives full residence rights in New Zealand. PRs also have this right but exercising it may cause complications with losing rights to return to Australia.

Does the "complications" merely refer to the fact that my Aus PR visa may be expired during the time I live in NZ? Or is there any other complications that I am not aware of?

If the only issue is my visa expiration during my stay in NZ, I can easily get a Resident Return Visa visa before I leave Australia.

Thank you

Last edited by Storm Petrel; Apr 25th 2011 at 5:54 am.
Old Apr 25th 2011, 6:17 am
Lost in BE Cyberspace

Bermudashorts has a reputation beyond reputeBermudashorts has a reputation beyond reputeBermudashorts has a reputation beyond reputeBermudashorts has a reputation beyond reputeBermudashorts has a reputation beyond reputeBermudashorts has a reputation beyond reputeBermudashorts has a reputation beyond reputeBermudashorts has a reputation beyond reputeBermudashorts has a reputation beyond reputeBermudashorts has a reputation beyond reputeBermudashorts has a reputation beyond repute