Visa queries

Old Jul 2nd 2017, 10:45 am
Just Joined

danbri is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Visa queries

Hi,

I'm looking to move out to Melbourne towards the end 2018, with my (Australian) fiancée of 3 years.
I'm a Quantity Surveyor (Contract Administrator in Australia, so far as I can tell) with 4+ years experience, and a Construction Management degree.

Looking at the Visa's, my best option appears to be the "Partner (Provisional) visa (subclass 309) and Partner (Migrant) visa (subclass 100)".
However at a cost of $7,000 I am wondering, given my profession, whether the "Skilled Independent visa (subclass 189) (Points-tested) stream" is just as viable an option and a more beneficial with half the price at $3,670.

Can anyone advise if there are benefits to the Partner Visa that I have discounted?
Should I just put up with the fact there's an extra cost and go for it?

To complicate matters I am looking at changing my surname before I migrate, this is due to personal reasons (short version - name was changed to that of step-parents when I was young, they're now not part of the family and I would like back my original birth surname).

So long as I get my UK passport, personal (bank, etc.) details, and a deed poll, all ready before I start my Visa application, would anyone foresee this being an issue at all?

My partner actually needs to get her Aussie passport renewed soon, so I'm thinking I may just go with her and see if we can get some advice on these queries.

Thanks in advance.
Dan
Old Jul 2nd 2017, 11:43 am
Home and Happy

Location: Keep true friends and puppets close, trust no-one else...