age limit

Old Jun 15th 2010, 5:31 pm
  #1  
Just Joined
Thread Starter
 
Joined: Jun 2010
Location: scunthorpe
Posts: 16
wese007 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default age limit

firstly hi to everyone,

well im thinking of moving to aus,so need help please, i have looked on google with no joy,im hoping someone could tell me the age limit for moving to aus

thats the fist thing i need to know for my plan to move there ,being 39 at present, i know its a long time away,and may change by then,was looking at around 3- 4 years,for when kids finish ,uni and school,

cheers
wese007 is offline  
Old Jun 15th 2010, 6:46 pm
  #2  
Forum Regular
 
Joined: Oct 2008
Location: Up North, UK
Posts: 81
middi is just really nicemiddi is just really nicemiddi is just really nicemiddi is just really nicemiddi is just really nicemiddi is just really nicemiddi is just really nicemiddi is just really nicemiddi is just really nicemiddi is just really nicemiddi is just really nice
Default Re: age limit

Hi wese007,

What type of visa were you refering to? Would it be a skilled worker visa?

The cut off point for a General Skilled Migration (GSM 175) visa is usually 45(link to DIAC website here).
Most working visa's appear to be 45 years.

As with most things, there will be exceptions to this. I believe that some specialisms will allow older applicants, but would expect this to be the exception rather than the rule.

I'm sure there will be others who will have more information on other visa types.

Regards
middi
middi is offline  
Old Jun 15th 2010, 7:19 pm
  #3  
Just Joined
Thread Starter
 
Joined: Jun 2010
Location: scunthorpe
Posts: 16
wese007 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: age limit

hi middi

im a fully qualified plumber,water side not gas,also time served plasterer,but no qualifications for plastereing,

im self employed which i was told would go towards the points system as well, my ex missus use to use this forum all the time as she wanted to go over, and told me a fair bit on moving

cheers for the help
wese007 is offline  
Old Jun 15th 2010, 7:34 pm
  #4  
Shiny Arse Know All
 
ROMFT_WO2RN's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2010
Location: Adelaide, somewhere
Posts: 14,180
ROMFT_WO2RN has a reputation beyond reputeROMFT_WO2RN has a reputation beyond reputeROMFT_WO2RN has a reputation beyond reputeROMFT_WO2RN has a reputation beyond reputeROMFT_WO2RN has a reputation beyond reputeROMFT_WO2RN has a reputation beyond reputeROMFT_WO2RN has a reputation beyond reputeROMFT_WO2RN has a reputation beyond reputeROMFT_WO2RN has a reputation beyond reputeROMFT_WO2RN has a reputation beyond reputeROMFT_WO2RN has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: age limit

Originally Posted by wese007 View Post
firstly hi to everyone,

well im thinking of moving to aus,so need help please, i have looked on google with no joy,im hoping someone could tell me the age limit for moving to aus

thats the fist thing i need to know for my plan to move there ,being 39 at present, i know its a long time away,and may change by then,was looking at around 3- 4 years,for when kids finish ,uni and school,

cheers
Age limit for GSM is under 45 at time of application. You'd also lose 5 points by turning 40. Best to try and get application in at current age. Your points will determine if you can go independant >120 or need sponsorship <120 (pending any changes). You'll also need a +ve skills assessment for your job before applying assuming it's on the new SOL. Check out the DIAC site for the latest info bearing in mind new rules in force as of 1st July.
ROMFT_WO2RN is offline  
Old Jun 15th 2010, 7:44 pm
  #5  
Just Joined
Thread Starter
 
Joined: Jun 2010
Location: scunthorpe
Posts: 16
wese007 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: age limit

ROMFT_WO2RN ,with me wanting to move in the time i said,is it still worth applying now at 39, or will i have to reapply again when the time comes nearer by
wese007 is offline  
Old Jun 15th 2010, 7:47 pm
  #6  
Shiny Arse Know All
 
ROMFT_WO2RN's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2010
Location: Adelaide, somewhere
Posts: 14,180
ROMFT_WO2RN has a reputation beyond reputeROMFT_WO2RN has a reputation beyond reputeROMFT_WO2RN has a reputation beyond reputeROMFT_WO2RN has a reputation beyond reputeROMFT_WO2RN has a reputation beyond reputeROMFT_WO2RN has a reputation beyond reputeROMFT_WO2RN has a reputation beyond reputeROMFT_WO2RN has a reputation beyond reputeROMFT_WO2RN has a reputation beyond reputeROMFT_WO2RN has a reputation beyond reputeROMFT_WO2RN has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: age limit

Originally Posted by wese007 View Post
ROMFT_WO2RN ,with me wanting to move in the time i said,is it still worth applying now at 39, or will i have to reapply again when the time comes nearer by
Apply now. You'll need to validate visa when granted (within a set time period) but not necessarily move at same time. You have 5 years from visa grant to make the permanent move.

Once you have the visa the rest is down to personal planning
ROMFT_WO2RN is offline  
Old Jun 15th 2010, 8:12 pm
  #7  
Da bing bing!
 
JenniGee's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2007
Location: Kreissknows!!!
Posts: 2,202
JenniGee has a reputation beyond reputeJenniGee has a reputation beyond reputeJenniGee has a reputation beyond reputeJenniGee has a reputation beyond reputeJenniGee has a reputation beyond reputeJenniGee has a reputation beyond reputeJenniGee has a reputation beyond reputeJenniGee has a reputation beyond reputeJenniGee has a reputation beyond reputeJenniGee has a reputation beyond reputeJenniGee has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: age limit

Yes, can I just add...apply now so that you secure those extra 5 points for notbeing 40 yet. It will take time for th visa to progress through, so you may be 40 or even 41 before the actual grant, by which time you will still have time to validate before you move.

The guide for most people I think would be, if you qualify for the visa, get your application in quick. You never know what might happen with migration rule changes & you will have plenty of time, it's not as if they grant & expect you to move within a week!!!

Best wishes
JenniGee is offline  
Old Jun 15th 2010, 8:17 pm
  #8  
Just Joined
Thread Starter
 
Joined: Jun 2010
Location: scunthorpe
Posts: 16
wese007 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: age limit

wow,best get it started then,got me excited already lol, cheers for the input
wese007 is offline  
Old Jun 15th 2010, 8:37 pm
  #9  
Shiny Arse Know All
 
ROMFT_WO2RN's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2010
Location: Adelaide, somewhere
Posts: 14,180
ROMFT_WO2RN has a reputation beyond reputeROMFT_WO2RN has a reputation beyond reputeROMFT_WO2RN has a reputation beyond reputeROMFT_WO2RN has a reputation beyond reputeROMFT_WO2RN has a reputation beyond reputeROMFT_WO2RN has a reputation beyond reputeROMFT_WO2RN has a reputation beyond reputeROMFT_WO2RN has a reputation beyond reputeROMFT_WO2RN has a reputation beyond reputeROMFT_WO2RN has a reputation beyond reputeROMFT_WO2RN has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: age limit

Originally Posted by wese007 View Post
wow,best get it started then,got me excited already lol, cheers for the input
Both plumber and plasterer are on the New SOL so that's your start.

Check out the ANZSCO, VETASSESS for plumber and TRA for plasterer websites.

Get the skills assessment and slap that application in
ROMFT_WO2RN is offline  
Old Jun 16th 2010, 4:20 am
  #10  
HMP Queensland
 
Pollyana's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2002
Location: Keep true friends and puppets close, trust no-one else...
Posts: 93,320
Pollyana has a reputation beyond reputePollyana has a reputation beyond reputePollyana has a reputation beyond reputePollyana has a reputation beyond reputePollyana has a reputation beyond reputePollyana has a reputation beyond reputePollyana has a reputation beyond reputePollyana has a reputation beyond reputePollyana has a reputation beyond reputePollyana has a reputation beyond reputePollyana has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: age limit

Originally Posted by wese007 View Post
firstly hi to everyone,

well im thinking of moving to aus,so need help please, i have looked on google with no joy,im hoping someone could tell me the age limit for moving to aus

thats the fist thing i need to know for my plan to move there ,being 39 at present, i know its a long time away,and may change by then,was looking at around 3- 4 years,for when kids finish ,uni and school,

cheers
www.immi.gov.au is the official webste for the Dept of Immigration.
Pollyana is offline  
Old Jun 17th 2010, 7:30 pm
  #11  
Just Joined
Thread Starter
 
Joined: Jun 2010
Location: scunthorpe
Posts: 16
wese007 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: age limit

cheers for the pointers
wese007 is offline  
Old Jun 19th 2010, 9:19 pm
  #12  
Just Joined
Thread Starter
 
Joined: Jun 2010
Location: scunthorpe
Posts: 16
wese007 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: age limit

just wondering,what order should i be looking at doing a application please,

would be doing a skills assessment be my first call of action,im thinking i need to do and pass this before doing anything else
cheers
wese007 is offline  
Old Jun 20th 2010, 3:33 am
  #13  
BE Enthusiast
 
Joined: Jan 2010
Posts: 683
wilson01 is a glorious beacon of lightwilson01 is a glorious beacon of lightwilson01 is a glorious beacon of lightwilson01 is a glorious beacon of lightwilson01 is a glorious beacon of lightwilson01 is a glorious beacon of lightwilson01 is a glorious beacon of lightwilson01 is a glorious beacon of lightwilson01 is a glorious beacon of lightwilson01 is a glorious beacon of lightwilson01 is a glorious beacon of light
Default Re: age limit

Originally Posted by wese007 View Post
just wondering,what order should i be looking at doing a application please,

would be doing a skills assessment be my first call of action,im thinking i need to do and pass this before doing anything else
cheers
Hi there and welcome to BE Yes you are right with the above in red. Please check out the visa wizard on the DIAC website http://www.immi.gov.au/ (finding a visa) Try to absorb all the information Then find out who would be responsible for assessing your skills as a plumber (I think someone has already mentioned this). When you are sure about who assesses your skills, read their website as to what documents they will require from you. Once you have all your docs, apply for it and wait for it to be assessed and returned to you. Once you have a positive skills assessment you are eligible to apply to DIAC for your visa.
As you are 39 now and you don't want to lose 5 points by turning 40 do it now as a skills assessment may take upto 3 months

Good luck with everything
wilson01 is offline  
Old Nov 26th 2010, 1:12 pm
  #14  
Just Joined
Thread Starter
 
Joined: Jun 2010
Location: scunthorpe
Posts: 16
wese007 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: age limit

hi again

been a long time since i was on here,personal issues lol,

im in a dilema, i was advised to get my application sent in before im 40,ive not sent it yet, and im 40 on boxing day this year.

i started filling in my VETASSESS application,is this what i need to be sent in before im 40 before everything else,or is it too late now with the time i have left,

i was advised to doing a skills assessment be my first call of action,my ex says i need not do this first,its the VETASSESS that needs doing first

ive maybe left it to late now to not loose the 5 points,and now im unsure weather to wait for the new points system i see thats due to start in july 2011

help me please
wese007 is offline  
Old Nov 26th 2010, 3:47 pm
  #15  
Shiny Arse Know All
 
ROMFT_WO2RN's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2010
Location: Adelaide, somewhere
Posts: 14,180
ROMFT_WO2RN has a reputation beyond reputeROMFT_WO2RN has a reputation beyond reputeROMFT_WO2RN has a reputation beyond reputeROMFT_WO2RN has a reputation beyond reputeROMFT_WO2RN has a reputation beyond reputeROMFT_WO2RN has a reputation beyond reputeROMFT_WO2RN has a reputation beyond reputeROMFT_WO2RN has a reputation beyond reputeROMFT_WO2RN has a reputation beyond reputeROMFT_WO2RN has a reputation beyond reputeROMFT_WO2RN has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: age limit

Originally Posted by wese007 View Post
hi again

been a long time since i was on here,personal issues lol,

im in a dilema, i was advised to get my application sent in before im 40,ive not sent it yet, and im 40 on boxing day this year.

i started filling in my VETASSESS application,is this what i need to be sent in before im 40 before everything else,or is it too late now with the time i have left,

i was advised to doing a skills assessment be my first call of action,my ex says i need not do this first,its the VETASSESS that needs doing first

ive maybe left it to late now to not loose the 5 points,and now im unsure weather to wait for the new points system i see thats due to start in july 2011

help me please
you need the skills assessment before you can lodge a visa app and it's for the visa app that you need to be less than 40 to avoid losing the points. Vetassess IS the skills assessment!
ROMFT_WO2RN is offline  

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.