Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Australia > Immigration, Visas & Citizenship (Australia)
Reload this Page >

Advice on temporary & permanent visas please!!

Wikiposts

Advice on temporary & permanent visas please!!

Old Feb 12th 2009, 12:48 am
Just Joined

jsc77 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Advice on temporary & permanent visas please!!

Hi,

My wife, children and I are hoping to move to Australia from the UK in the next 1-2 years, and were hoping some of you may be able to help with some advice and answers to our queries.
We have 3 children currently aged 4, 2 and 2 months. I am a chartered accountant, with 4 years experience in external audit and industry.
We are hoping to go to Melbourne or Sydney.

We have previously always planned to go on a temporary visa initially, and then make this permanent if we decide to stay. Recently, however, we have started to think about applying for permanent residency.

Can anyone help answer the following questions?

1) I have had a chat with someone at VisaBureau who has advised that the total cost of applying for permanent residency would be £4-5k. Does this sound reasonable?
2) What are the benefits of using an agent, and can it realistically be done without one?
3) Is it any easier or cheaper to apply for permanent residency when in Australia on a temporary visa?
4) What are the financial differences when in Australia between being temp/perm? I have read that as a temp we would have to pay for schooling, but can find little on the average cost of this, can anyone advise?
5) I have also read that we may be able to get LAFHA if temp. How does this work and how does it compare to any state benefits such as childcare we may get if perm?
6) Is it true that you cannot buy a property if you are a temp resident? Also, I have heard that all first time buyers get $7k grant. Does this apply to those with perm residency, or just to those with citizenship?

Apologies for all the questions!!