British Expats

British Expats (https://britishexpats.com/forum/)
-   Immigration, Visas & Citizenship (Australia) (https://britishexpats.com/forum/immigration-visas-citizenship-australia-32/)
-   -   457 -> PR how long does the process take ? (https://britishexpats.com/forum/immigration-visas-citizenship-australia-32/457-pr-how-long-does-process-take-775142/)

Stu Ward Oct 19th 2012 8:12 am

457 -> PR how long does the process take ?

Hi

So we are going for PR after 4 years on a 457.
We have just initiated the process with an immigration agent ( through work) and I was wondering what people's experience was in regards to the timescales involved.
Is the process quicker because we are already here and have been for some time ?

Are the acceptance criteria the same ?

As I arrived on a 457 I did not have to go through the skills assessment thing. Pretty sure I'm ok, but I'm not 100%

I have almost 20 years work experience I'm my industry (Foundry) and a senior M&T manager. Have qualifications up to HNC, completed back when I were a lad !!

Guess I'm getting a bit twitchy after settling in here so well, now committed and worried about getting the rug pulled from under us !!!

Thanks

Stuart.

Bermudashorts Oct 19th 2012 8:27 am

Re: 457 -> PR how long does the process take ?

There are various PR visas, which one are you going for? Difficult to comment on any of your questions without knowing that. Well other than I don't think being on a 457 already will make any difference to processing times.

Stu Ward Oct 19th 2012 8:59 am

Originally Posted by Bermudashorts (Post 10339769)
There are various PR visas, which one are you going for? Difficult to comment on any of your questions without knowing that. Well other than I don't think being on a 457 already will make any difference to processing times.

I have absolutely no idea.
Work are sorting it out with Fragomen.
I should be speaking to Fragomen next week. Maybe they will give me options ?

Stu