British Expats

British Expats (https://britishexpats.com/forum/)
-   Immigration, Visas & Citizenship (Australia) (https://britishexpats.com/forum/immigration-visas-citizenship-australia-32/)
-   -   190 or 489 and what state (https://britishexpats.com/forum/immigration-visas-citizenship-australia-32/190-489-what-state-919174/)

Craigus1984 Nov 10th 2018 6:10 pm

190 or 489 and what state

evening all

im in a position to apply for a 190 or 489 in the following states,

NT 489-190
TAS -489
NSW 489-190
QLD -489
SA 489-190

my original preference was WA but not an option,
so im hoping to get ppls recommendations for what visa and area would be most successful for the move (not the visa)
I’m a mechanical engineer and have mainly worked in the FMCG sector (dairy and liquids)
what are the pro and cons and best options
I will be coming with 3 kids and the misses.

we have only looked into WA and basically all are research has be for the WA.
so a little lost as now have 5 options.

Any help or recommendations would be appreciated and taken onboard

thanks Craig

Pollyana Nov 10th 2018 11:10 pm

Re: 190 or 489 and what state

Originally Posted by Craigus1984 (Post 12591449)
evening all

NT 489-190
TAS -489
NSW 489-190
QLD -489
SA 489-190

so im hoping to get ppls recommendations for what visa and area would be most successful for the move (not the visa)
I’m a mechanical engineer and have mainly worked in the FMCG sector (dairy and liquids)

thanks Craig

Can't advise on your personal situation, but a few general coments.....

NT - rarely issues 190 now due to people taking the PR but never living there. If you apply for a 190 they will probably only over you a 489.
VIC - long history of rejecting people who have applied to more than one State as they want people who are committed to living there.