worried

Old Mar 24th 2010, 9:08 pm
Just Joined

vickyb69 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default worried

Hi all

I have a job offer in auckland and start work on may 31st. We have (maybe prematurely) booked flights for may 4th.
We are applying for PR and have 2 issues:

1 - my medical has been referred as i have had several knee operations in the past and am due amother small one in 2 weeks. They are all minor, bad luck and mainly due to sporting injuries. I have a consultants letter to that effect. As a doctor i know they are not serious and i cannot believe a medical panel of doctors would judge them so - but how long does it take for the panel to see them and decide???

2- my husband had a bit of a mispent youth and has 2 relatively minor criminal convictions (both penalised with fines from £100-£300 and both over 10 years ago). These were detailed on the EOI and again in the application. We have been told that he is technically of 'bad character' and a character waiver needs to be prepared for my visa officers boss. We have sent him charcter references from his employer (He works in a responsible job with kids) and from the army cadets (a policeman wrote it!) where he is an adult volunteer. I have had no indication whether the charcter issue is likely to be a show stopped or whether the waiver is more of a dead cert. If it is a show stopper i will be really upset/angry as the convictions were on the EOI. Apparently the waiver cannot be prepared until the medicals are back!!

AAGGHHH - i'm getting really anxious - there is about 6 weeks until D Day - in peoples experience is this enough?
Old Mar 24th 2010, 9:25 pm
`

BEVS has disabled reputation
Default Re: worried

Oh dear. Six weeks is not a long time at all .

There is no way to know exactly how long it might take to process a medical referral or a character waiver.
Old Mar 24th 2010, 9:48 pm
Just Joined