British Expats

British Expats (https://britishexpats.com/forum/)
-   Immigration, Citizenship and Visas (NZ) (https://britishexpats.com/forum/immigration-citizenship-visas-nz-108/)
-   -   Working Holiday Visa NZ or Give Up And Go Home?? (https://britishexpats.com/forum/immigration-citizenship-visas-nz-108/working-holiday-visa-nz-give-up-go-home-608801/)

nicrock May 13th 2009 3:51 am

Working Holiday Visa NZ or Give Up And Go Home??

Hi All,

I am usually posting my troubles on the Australian forum, so i'm new to the NZ one :o

Our visa troubles are very long and boring so I'll break them down to the main parts:

1. Applied for PR Visa for Oz, my partner has 11 yrs exp. as a welder but no formal qualifications
2. Travelled to Oz on WHV in June08 to settle whilst the visa was being processed
3. The TRA stopped this visa INDEFINATELY! :ohmy:
4. My OH's temporary employer in Oz agreed to sponsor us if we paid the fee's :thumbsup:
5. We had to withdraw the application and lose all our money as the company is closing :(

We now have less than 4 weeks to sell all our furniture, car etc. find someone to take over our lease and leave the country!

I am so fed up with Australia and the difficulties and heartache we have faced this past year. We have never been to NZ and we'd love to visit, Newzealands seem so much more friendlier.

I need to know if I may prefer NZ as a country to emmigrate to instead of going back to England and starting another visa application straight away for Australia.

My worry is, do we now apply for a 12 month working holiday visa for NZ and hire a camper van to look around. Then see if there's an area we would like to look for jobs?

Or do we just fly on a visitors visa, see if we like it, then apply for a working holiday visa whilst were there?

I believe the WHV can take upto 4 weeks to be granted and we will have to have left Oz by then and have no visa to enter NZ with until it comes :unsure: