British Expats

British Expats (https://britishexpats.com/forum/)
-   Immigration, Citizenship and Visas (NZ) (https://britishexpats.com/forum/immigration-citizenship-visas-nz-108/)
-   -   UK Nurse confused with visa's (https://britishexpats.com/forum/immigration-citizenship-visas-nz-108/uk-nurse-confused-visas-857954/)

partnersincrime May 10th 2015 6:18 pm

UK Nurse confused with visa's

Hi, I am new to the forum, sorry if this is a garbled mess. I seem to be going round and round in circles. I am a UK Registered Nurse with 5 years post graduation experience. Originally we were going to go to NZ on a SM resident visa but as I cant seem to reach 140 points for my EOI. We have been steered in the direction of applying for a work visa (with employer sponsorship) which we feel will limit us when we go to NZ as my partner will have to go to where he can get work, which will vary (he is a sound & light engineer). Meaning I could be stuck on the other side of the country with my employer - not ideal when starting a life in a new country. Then lodging my EOI to run along side the work visa - as I will then have over 140 points.

I have inquired about jobs - It is the whole visa before job/ job before visa scenario - which I understand completely but I am stuck in a bit of a rut now! I am underway with my NZNC registration and we are aiming to go to NZ in Jan 2016. My partner has talked to some perspective employers and they have said they can help him with a job offer & to get in touch closer to the time. That was a few months back before we set a date. Could we claim 10 points or his job offer?

Here is how I have calculated my points:

25 points for Age as am 31 at the moment: 30-39 years

15 Points for 5 years Work experience in skilled employment
(Registered Nurse)

I have no work experience in New Zealand but my experience is on the long term shortage list. Can I claim bonus points for work experience out side New Zealand? ?10 points