British Expats

British Expats (https://britishexpats.com/forum/)
-   Immigration, Citizenship and Visas (NZ) (https://britishexpats.com/forum/immigration-citizenship-visas-nz-108/)
-   -   Uk Gas Engineer >>> NZ (https://britishexpats.com/forum/immigration-citizenship-visas-nz-108/uk-gas-engineer-nz-931000/)

Slimjake Feb 10th 2020 3:48 am

Uk Gas Engineer >>> NZ

Hi.

Apologies if this has already been posted somewhere but Im struggling to find any reassurance anywhere without spending money on getting qualifications verified...unless Im not looking in the right place.

I have been Gas Safe registered for almost 5 years now and I have been working for myself for the last 12 months after working for a company for 3 years.

I have my ACS qualifications for gas in boilers, cookers and fires but as I came into the plumbing and heating game late (age 24) I was unable to get onto the 4 year NVQ apprenticeship scheme, so instead i when to college at night for 2 years and managed to get a job with a local gas fitter/plumber along side that (totalling 6 years experience. The qualification i gained training wise is a CITB (Construction Skills).

Me and my wife have been discussing the possibility of moving to New Zealand, so before we start getting our hearts set on the idea I was wondering if anyone knew how they view this qualification in comparison to their equivalent qualifications? Also, the qualification is only in Gas Safety. Although i have been practicing plumbing in the UK (fitting bathrooms etc) for 6 years I dont have any specific plumbing qualifications for water regs etc, could anyone also advise on this?

Any help/advice would be greatfully appreciated.

Cheers

Suzelah Feb 11th 2020 5:57 pm

Re: Uk Gas Engineer >>> NZ

Hi, piped gas doesn't seem to be a much of a thing here. We are in the South Island and use LPG gas. This maybe why you are struggling to find info but I could be wrong.