trainee plumber engaged to kiwi

Old Mar 6th 2008, 1:11 pm
Just Joined

MD1180 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default trainee plumber engaged to kiwi

Hi Everyone,

I have literally only just started investigating emmigrating to NZ so apologies if I ask any obvious questions !

I am a trainee plumber, currently on a level 2 city & guilds but not employed in the trade at the moment.

I am also engaged to a kiwi girl and we are planning on moving to NZ in a couple of years.

Does anyone know if a uk city & guilds qualification is worth anything in NZ or is it irrelevant. I will have minimal if any experience as a plumber when we make the move. Although the plan is to make the career change in NZ to become a plumber - I understand plumbers are in short supply over there.

What would be my best way into New Zealand ? Is the engagement enough or is only marraige worth anything. We would have been together for about 5 years and engaged for about 4 (or more depending on when we move).

I am concerned as I have no other qualifications (other than A-Levels) that I may not be allowed into NZ.

Help !!!!

Thanks in advance !

Matt
Old Mar 6th 2008, 3:09 pm
I'm going fishing .....

psa2570 has a brilliant futurepsa2570 has a brilliant futurepsa2570 has a brilliant futurepsa2570 has a brilliant futurepsa2570 has a brilliant futurepsa2570 has a brilliant futurepsa2570 has a brilliant future
Default Re: trainee plumber engaged to kiwi

Hi,
I too am a Plumber, C&G level 2 trained and am self employed in Devon, considering Level 3 next year, once i've got more experience under my belt.
"Bevs here" is the one you need to talk to, her OH is a UK qualified Plumber and they've been in NZ for some time now.
I did start a thread called "NZ Plumbers" which Bev replied to, you may find the info interesting.
Old Mar 6th 2008, 4:18 pm
BE Enthusiast