British Expats

British Expats (https://britishexpats.com/forum/)
-   Immigration, Citizenship and Visas (NZ) (https://britishexpats.com/forum/immigration-citizenship-visas-nz-108/)
-   -   skills shortage list (https://britishexpats.com/forum/immigration-citizenship-visas-nz-108/skills-shortage-list-554864/)

waggy660 Aug 12th 2008 7:13 pm

skills shortage list

my job as crane operator is on the immediate skills shortage list for the whole of nz yet it doesnt seem to get many points on the indicator??how can a job be sort after yet not wanted?? i cant get a repy from any possible employers even though ive emailed and sent cv. seems like only way to go is on holiday then door to door , any ideas, getting bit frustrated now , grr grr

getmethere Aug 12th 2008 7:47 pm

Re: skills shortage list

Hi there

I'm not an expert (and am certainly not trying to justify the immigration regulations because I find some of the rules and regulations totally pointless and mind boggling and yes, frustrating) but I think the reason the immediate skills shortage jobs may not get that many points on the skilled migrant points indicator is because these jobs are not seen to be in an on-going, long term shortage so you don't get as many points as you would if you had a skill on the long term skills shortage list.

I think immediate skills shortage jobs can get you a work permit (if you can score a job - another hurdle). Many people have taken the risk to go over on visitors visas and have been lucky, but it's a risky business - a bit too risky for us right now with a young family but if we get desparate we may have to!!!!

Good luck - no advice unfortunately but hope it works out for you guys!!!

BEVS Aug 12th 2008 10:22 pm

Originally Posted by waggy660 (Post 6673055)