Skilled Migrant or LTBV

Old Jun 7th 2010, 7:13 am
Just Joined

anewstart is an unknown quantity at this point

Hi all

Help needed. I was planning to get PR via Skilled Immigration with 125 points and no job offer. However, I'm looking to buy a travel site internet franchise. It's an online business (no fixed assets) that I would run with my wife and will promote businesses in New Zealand to a global travel audience. Basically, local businesses will pay for advertising space while I generate sales for them via hotel and restaurant bookings etc - so good support for NZ businesses.

Although I have extensive experience in marketing, communications and my wife is in sales, I have no experience running a business. But as it's an internet franchise business I have the necessary experience.

The business won't employ staff, but as the business takes off in the future I would look to take on some regional sales guys.

Do I have a realistic shot at the LTBV or am I better of going down the Skilled Immigrant path? I don't know how they treat internet only business? I'm also worried I won't get pulled from the EOI pool.

I don't want to waste time if I have no chance so any advice would be great.

Originally Posted by danjones1
Internet business franchise?

Not a chance, try the skilled route...
This is the response I've jsut got from the NZ Immigration Business Migration Branch...has given some hope....