Recognised qualificqtions SMC

Old Jan 25th 2011, 6:47 pm
BE Enthusiast

rick78 has a brilliant futurerick78 has a brilliant futurerick78 has a brilliant futurerick78 has a brilliant futurerick78 has a brilliant futurerick78 has a brilliant futurerick78 has a brilliant futurerick78 has a brilliant future
Default Recognised qualificqtions SMC

Hi... me again... nearly there, honest

I have a PhD, MSc and BSc... the MSc is directly relevant to all my work experience and my current job. All these qualifications were obtained in the UK and so I have been looking at Appendix 3 of the Operations Manual to look what "level" they are relative to the NZQA (they are exempt from assessment). I've also been looking at what levels they are listed at with ANZCO.

The PhD is easy, its a level 10 on both sources of information. The problem is with the MSc and BSc.

In Appendix 3 the MSc is listed as "At least 8*" with the asterisk stating it may be more but would have to be assessed. In the ANZSCO list it is listed as level 9.

Similarly, in appendix 3 the BSc (with honours) is listed as "level 7" but in the ANZSCO it is listed as level 8.

Its not going to make any difference to my EOI, but I want to ensure I put the correct levels on the application.

Thanks in advance for any help.
Old Feb 1st 2011, 7:46 am
Banned

robbyarg is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: Recognised qualificqtions SMC

Understandly you are exempt from getting the IQA, and it can be a bit strange why one would leave UK for NZ. However, many still make that choice.

In any case, just to be completely certain, you can do a preliminary assessment who costs about NZ 135. This should be about 70-80 pounds. They will confirm all your qualification levels so there will be no mistake there.

Originally Posted by rick78 View Post
Hi... me again... nearly there, honest