British Expats

British Expats (https://britishexpats.com/forum/)
-   Immigration, Citizenship and Visas (NZ) (https://britishexpats.com/forum/immigration-citizenship-visas-nz-108/)
-   -   Qualification points (https://britishexpats.com/forum/immigration-citizenship-visas-nz-108/qualification-points-793937/)

prickles Apr 14th 2013 2:29 pm

Qualification points

When calculating points, do they count more than one degree if they are at different levels.

OK, I'll explain myself a bit better; my job is on the long term skills shortage list and I have over 10 years experience in my job...(so that's looking good on my application, yey)

I have a BA ( Hons), a Post Graduate Diploma and a Masters degree but not sure if they just count the highest one.

I Just need to get 'the points' as don't have a partner or relatives in NZ. Though I have friends there.

Am I the only single parent who is brave enough to make the move ??

You see i'm confused not sure whether to apply to be picked of the 'top points list', to apply for a job first or to just come over on a visitors visa for six months and apply for jobs/visa when I get there.

That's a lot of questions isn't it :confused:

MrsFychan Apr 14th 2013 7:59 pm

Re: Qualification points

believe you can only count one so use the one that gives you the most points.

Persephone Apr 15th 2013 6:19 pm

Yep, you can only claim points for one qualification. In general you would claim the one that gave you most points.
BUT your work experience and job is on the LTSSL so your qualification has to match that in column 4 on the list to claim the bonus points. You may have to claim a lower qualification in order to get the bonus points for work experience and also a qualification in an area of skills shortage.