Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > New Zealand > Immigration, Citizenship and Visas (NZ)
Reload this Page >

Problems with my Silver Fern Application - any advice appreciated

Problems with my Silver Fern Application - any advice appreciated

Old Jul 20th 2012, 11:25 am
Just Joined

wm_try_it is an unknown quantity at this point
Unhappy Problems with my Silver Fern Application - any advice appreciated

Hi all,
I got the problem due to my qualification, Bachelor of Computing, from UK, but I studied in another country. The university which issued my Degree is on the list of exemption from NZQA. However, I was not aware that if I studied in a campus not in UK, I have to go through NZQA Assessment. Here came the issue:

9 Jul: Document Received at Bangkok Branch.
10 Jul: I received an email from CO asking me to apply for a PAR (Pre Assessment Result) for my qualification. I, then, immediately applied for the PAR.

19 Jul: Received result for my PAR, which stated my qualification cannot be assessed unless I applied for IQA, which costs much more time and fee. I, then, informed my CO of the PAR result and asked what she needed me to do next.

20 Jul: Received reply from CO as followed:
Thank you for your email. I have reviewed the comments from NZQA and it looks like you need to obtain the full assessment (IQA) for your qualification. Unfortunately the IQA processing time may take about 1 to 2 months and we cannot hold your application for such period.

What does my CO mean? What should I do now? Start shaking now, I would appreciate any advice.
Old Jul 20th 2012, 12:29 pm
Just Joined

markmillz is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: Problems with my Silver Fern Application - any advice appreciated

Originally Posted by wm_try_it
Hi all,