Plumber dreaming of NZ move

Old May 4th 2018, 9:51 am
Just Joined

ChrisF82 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Plumber dreaming of NZ move

Hi everyone, (i posted this on another part of this site so hoping its in the right place now)

I spent 6 months travelling NZ back in 2009 and absolutely fell in love with the country. At the time, the recession had hit in and every job that become available was rightly offered to NZ citizens first. (I'm sure this hasn't changed) But this did impact (at the time), how many jobs were available for travellers on a WHV.
I am actually a plumber by trade, with over 16 years working in the industry.
My dream would be to move permanently but I am a little unsure on the best ways to gain a visa.
I have heard/ been told a couple of things which i hoped somebody may be able to confirm for me-

1- the best way to get a visa is apply and secure a job offer , get a sponsorship with the company, then work towards becoming a NZ registered plumber once in the country and working.
2- You can't get offered plumber jobs unless you are already in NZ.

I know that if I want to work as a plumber, I will need to get NZ registration once I am there , which I am more than happy with. I understand this will come at a cost, etc. I guess what I am really looking for is some guidance on what the best route to go down is?

I guess the million dollar question is = Where do you look for plumbing jobs, in hope of gaining that golden ticket? (or visa should i say.... )

I have been looking on job websites, but it seems 90% of the jobs advertised are either completely out dated, or they are posted by recruitment consultants (not the actual companies direct). The one recruitment consultant who took time to email me, didn't really shed much light - All she said was what I mentioned above. Basically, I am no use to her unless i'm already shacked up in NZ with my tool bag, ready to set to work!!