Please help : NZ Skilled Migration

Old Aug 23rd 2009, 2:57 pm
Just Joined

harsh0507 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Please help : NZ Skilled Migration

Hi,

I'm a mechanical engineer from India. My age is 48 years. I have a 4-yr bachelor degree in mechanical engineering and experience of 24 years in my field. My wife has a 3-yr bachelor of commerce degree. We are planning to migrate to New Zealand under the Skilled Migration Category.

I've calulated my points as below :

Recognised undergraduate qualification -> 50
Age -> 10
Work experience in skilled employment -> 30
Partner holds a recognised qualification -> 20
Work experience in an area of absolute skills shortage -> 15
Qualification in an area of absolute skills shortage -> 10

However i'm doubtful about the absolute skills shortage points (Work experience and qualification both).

Because in the LTSSL (Long term skills shortage list) it is written that if mechanical engineer degree is accredited by Washington accord then only i can claim the absolute skills shortage points.

I passed my degree around 25 years back from Sardar Patel University which is listed on the List of qualifications exempt from assessment. Here -> http://www.immigration.govt.nz/opsmanual/9792.htm

Does that mean that my degree is already Washington accord accredited ?

While googling about Washington accord i came across this page -> http://www.digitallearning.in/news/n...ID=12038&inc=1

It is written that India joined Washington accord in Oct 2007.

But i passed my degree in 1984. So, is my degree also accredited by washington accord ?
Old Aug 23rd 2009, 5:38 pm
Just Joined

Default Re: Please help : NZ Skilled Migration

Someone plz reply ...

I'm sure there are many people on this forum who are fully aware of immigration rules ...
Old Aug 23rd 2009, 11:26 pm
`

BEVS has disabled reputation