British Expats

British Expats (https://britishexpats.com/forum/)
-   Immigration, Citizenship and Visas (NZ) (https://britishexpats.com/forum/immigration-citizenship-visas-nz-108/)
-   -   Ping pong Pom visa issue (https://britishexpats.com/forum/immigration-citizenship-visas-nz-108/ping-pong-pom-visa-issue-809197/)

LauraNotts Sep 13th 2013 9:45 pm

Ping pong Pom visa issue

Hey all,

I arrived in NZ in July 2013 on a 12 month working holiday visa. I have a job right now and am happy to work that through, they've also said they are happy to sponsor me for a three year work visa. Trouble is I don't want to stay in the town I am in long term as it's just too small and isolated. I want to move to an actual city.

Right now I am thinking I might work through my 12 month visa, go home, regroup a bit and then plan a new move out to a proper long term job in a bigger city on a three year visa. I'm a nurse so I feel pretty confident I could get work. I like NZ and like the idea of staying but I want to be able to do it somewhere long term and sustainable.

Is this insane? Talk to me people :)

Robbie2010 Sep 13th 2013 11:34 pm

Re: Ping pong Pom visa issue

If you are a Nurse why not apply for Permanent Residency now?

LauraNotts Sep 13th 2013 11:41 pm

Because I don't hold a residence visa right now and can't get one because I don't earn enough yet. Aside from this I won't have been in NZ long enough by the time I need to apply. I also won't have tax residency status as I won't have been in NZ long enough. I don't have a home here or a business or investment which are the other things that would be able to qualify me for residency.

Residency is out of reach for me until I have at least another year of nursing experience so I can earn enough to qualify for the first rung of the visas. Believe me I looked into this option too.

Robbie2010 Sep 14th 2013 2:28 am

I'm still not convinced that you would not be eligible for PR.