Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > New Zealand > Immigration, Citizenship and Visas (NZ)
Reload this Page >

Physicist turned freelancer looking to emigrate from UK

Physicist turned freelancer looking to emigrate from UK

Old Aug 16th 2018, 10:02 pm
Just Joined

LeeHo is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Physicist turned freelancer looking to emigrate from UK

Hi,

I'm thinking of applying for a skilled independent visa, but not sure if I'd be in with a chance.

I have a PhD in Physics from a UK University, but for the last 4 years have worked freelance as a Software Developer.
Whilst this is a pretty standard route in the UK (physics/maths - > software) my qualifications are obviously not in ICT.

From what I can gather, I would get 30pts for my age (33). 70 points for qualifications (PhD UK according to appendix 3). 20 points
(4 years software development experience)

However this only leaves me with 120 points and as I understand it the minimum number is 160pts, so I have no chance right now?

Are there no points for English IETLS like for Aus?

Would my 4 years software experience count if it's freelance? And does it count even though my qualifications are not directly in ICT?
I seemed to get into trouble with the Aus points as my qualifications and nominated occupation (software dev) don't really tie together by their reckoning, but it doesn't seem that this would be a problem here?

Last edited by LeeHo; Aug 16th 2018 at 10:06 pm.
Old Aug 16th 2018, 10:53 pm
BE Forum Addict

mikemike has a reputation beyond reputemikemike has a reputation beyond reputemikemike has a reputation beyond reputemikemike has a reputation beyond reputemikemike has a reputation beyond reputemikemike has a reputation beyond reputemikemike has a reputation beyond reputemikemike has a reputation beyond reputemikemike has a reputation beyond reputemikemike has a reputation beyond reputemikemike has a reputation beyond repute