Parent sponsorship

Old Feb 14th 2011, 8:29 pm
Just Joined

Marrisa is an unknown quantity at this point
Unhappy Parent sponsorship

Hi everyone

I have never written on a forum before, not sure why I am now - suppose I am looking for someone who may be in a similar situation as me?

We have been in NZ for 4 years now, had our residency for just over 3 years. The moment our 3 years passed we put in our sponsorship forms to get my parents over here with us to live. Its always been the plan and I don't think I could have ever made this move knowing I may never see them again.

Typically getting our residency took longer than we hoped, then by the time we finally got past our 3 years Immigration NZ changed the rules and due to letting in too many people in previous years they have now capped the entries, meaning we now have a further 18-24 months wait for anyone to even look at our application. Its already been the longest 4 years ever without them.

My daughter is now 7 and the guilt I feel from them missing out on her life is really getting to me. They would like to visit but they are saving their money to make their (eventual) NZ move more successful.

It makes me so sad that they are ready to move, ready to retire, have money that they can bring to contribute to NZ and come live in peace here not wanting anything from NZ other than a quiet life and I cannot get it for them. Life is passing us by and I am so fed up.

Is anyone out there in the same position? Does anyone have any advice? I have spoken to Imm NZ and 3 different independent advisers, yet it seems there are no loopholes. If anyone out there is going through this please drop me a line, I need to know I am not alone in this process.

Marrisa
<wee snip>

Last edited by BEVS; Feb 14th 2011 at 8:38 pm. Reason: You may link to your personal blog in your signature.
Old Feb 14th 2011, 8:43 pm
`

BEVS has disabled reputation
Default Re: Parent sponsorship

Hi there and welcome to this cosy little NZ forum.