NZQA/PAR question

Old Jul 10th 2010, 9:39 am
Just Joined

Olivesk is an unknown quantity at this point
Default NZQA/PAR question

Hello helpful people

There's some great stuff on this forum that's already answered alot of our questions, but I have a new one...

I'm about to submit my Higher Diploma in Computer Science for a PAR with the NZQA and I'm hoping it will come back as a level 7 qualification. If it does it will mean I have 135 points INCLUDING 15 bonus points for 10 years+ work experience in an area of absolute skill shortage and therefore it should be plain sailing from there

The HD was gained in Ireland which (apart from Hong Kong) is unique in calling post-grad qualifications 'diplomas', I know everywhere else a diploma is something you do BEFORE your degree. It was an intensive 1 year course.

The PAR does ask if I had to take any courses prior to acceptance on the Higher Diploma and I've stated that I did a 3 yr Bachelors in Geography which in itself IS a level 7 except I have no work experience there.

I'm going to submit the PAR as soon as my Uni comes back to confirm my grade point average, but does anyone else have a similar experience? Am I likely to get this recognised as a level 7? Afterall this is a HIGHER qualification (I would have thought)

If it's not then it'll be back to the usual catch 22 of "job before visa, visa before job" before I can submit my EOI
Old Jul 10th 2010, 11:55 am
It is what it is Member

simonsi has a reputation beyond reputesimonsi has a reputation beyond reputesimonsi has a reputation beyond reputesimonsi has a reputation beyond reputesimonsi has a reputation beyond reputesimonsi has a reputation beyond reputesimonsi has a reputation beyond reputesimonsi has a reputation beyond reputesimonsi has a reputation beyond reputesimonsi has a reputation beyond reputesimonsi has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: NZQA/PAR question

Originally Posted by Olivesk